You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Cryptocurrencies are revolutionary (from an Oustider’s perspective)

in #money8 years ago

And i would like to ask you a question with "non-technical" terms :)

It's about bitcoin hard drive wallet or the bitcoin core, which represent my stock of Cryptocurrencies.

Assume that I have 5 bitcoins that are physically stored in a wallet on my local hard drive. One day this hard drive is damaged, no way to restore, so where will my bitcoins go? Does Bitcoin ecosystem will lose 5 coins from its total 21 mils of coins?

As what I can imagine, bitcoins is similar to gold, except gold is tangible material, bitcoin isn’t. So if I store my gold in a secret place and then I lose the address to look for it again, the gold is still there. But bitcoins are just digital, virtual instances. They do not really stay in a position in space. So how we can determine they are?

Sort:  

That is a very good question. Something that I do not have the proper answer for. However, if I were to guess, if they are gone. They are gone forever. Which is a curious thing to think about... Because what if we relied on bitcoin as our only currency, and somehow they all got destroyed. Then what? haha maybe it is just a fallacy of monetary systems? Or maybe there is an actual answer for this. Anybody willing to chip in??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48