Self-made millionaire Robert Herjavec: 4 tips any young person can use to succeed

in #money6 years ago

Today, Robert Herjavec is a star of ABC's "Shark Tank," the CEO of cybersecurity firm Herjavec Group and a multi-millionaire.

His success is entirely self made: Herjavec's family fled Communist Yugoslavia in 1970 (now Croatia) and arrived in Canada with a single suitcase and $20.

But before becoming an entrepreneur and investor, Herjavec felt adrift as a young person.

"I didn't know what I wanted to do. I was a bit of a mess, partying, hanging out," he says season 9 of "Shark Tank." "People would say, 'What do you want to do with your life?' I'd go, 'Ah, it doesn't matter.'"

But at 21, his father sat him down for a serious talk.

"I went through hell so that you could have the opportunity I never had," Herjavec's father told him. And it gave Herjavec the drive he needed to succeed.104520943-Robert_Herjavec_From_Shark_Tank.1910x1000.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51