You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ten dollar credit card minimum: No thanks.

in #money6 years ago

Brilliantly put! Dealing with something like that would annoy me too. Fortunately, Bulgaria doesn't have any businesses trying to impose something like that, but some merchants try other tricks. I have also walked out and opted out of some goods and services when they have tried to impose unadvertised additional fees or penalties for ridiculous things. Your bill is too low, we want more money is not something any of us have to stand for.

There's something similar happening here with taxis. As the rates are relatively low compared to properly developed countries, most taxi drivers hate short routes. Despite the fact that they don't have the right to refuse them by law, many of them do. But those peope are at least honest so I never kick up a fuss with the. Others though are more annoying as ask to be paid a fixed price that is usually higher than than the price you would pay for destinations they would otherwise do. Those annoy me quite a bit and I never ride with them. But there are some who would take a client at their regular rate regardless of the distance (those are also the ones that understand math as they all have a base charge which means that the shorter the distance, the more they make per mile/kilometer). The funny thing is that when a driver like that gives me a ride, I always leave them a sizable tip putting their pay higher or on par with the ones that start out bargaining. I'm sure many people do the same.

Many business owners in the service industry often forget that nothing can increase their profits more than good service and happy clients.

Sort:  

Ok so firstly @rocking-dave, you are the one and only person I have ever interacted with in Bulgaria. So today is a day of firsts! :)

It seems Bulgaria is not much different to other places in that taxi drivers try to take advantage of people. It might be made more difficult isfUber is active in the area however taxi drivers are one and the same when it comes to fare-charging I think.

Thanks for reading my post, nut just for agreeing with me, but for also adding valid and interesting comments. Greatly appreciated.

My pleasure, it was an interesting post to read! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51