Financial freedom: How I started

in #money6 years ago (edited)

Financial freedom is what not only most Filipinos but many young adults lack nowadays.

IMG_4882.JPG

I believe this has got a lot to do with one's discipline, character build-up and dedication.

Not all people who are born poor will remain poor and not all people borned rich will remain rich.

It's a matter of hardwork, technique, inspiration and motivation.

I, for example had a well paying job but decided to quit since of the overwhelming stress in the workplace. I believe it's no longer healthy anymore. Health is wealth as they say.

I decided to take a break and a long break at that. Almost two months now and I'm doing all right.

I was able to focus on personal investments, do what I've always wanted to do. Go to places I've only dreamed going to, without any pay check to count on. My to-do list being checked one by one. How am I doing it?

Though my existing and growing investments.

As a kid I was taught by my mom especially how to be independent and how to save money. She would make me a coin bank from a big Johnson & Johnson baby powder bottle for some candies we buy to sell in my school. We use the capital to buy and sell again and the profit goes to my coin bank. Also after I've earned enough she opened me my own bank account, I was in elementary back then.

Photo0843.jpg

From then on, I would save up any small amount from my allowance and put it in the bank when it's big enough to be deposited. I sometimes use it to pay for my projects and some school supplies I needed. I've carried this trait of being thrifty and economical up until now and I am sure reaping it's benefits.

Of course sometimes I eat what I want when I want it, I buy some things that are not that necessary. It's a reward I give myself once in a while. But if the price is high I'll still hesitate and will think about it for some time, I can be so critical about it as well.

Like this growing Rilakkuma collection I have.

(

What I'm pointing to you is that teach yourself the value of money, let yourself experience not having to wait for the next paycheck to arrive to be able to survive for the next two weeks.

Also I'm quite grateful for this community where I can express myself, explore skills I did bot know I have, meet new friends, learn from them and earn on top of it.

Don't stop investing, save and earn for your future but don't deprive yourself. Rewarding yourself will go a long way.

20161119_111227.jpg

Bottom line, if you are not happy where you are, risk and take action. If you are contented in what you have, still strive to be better. There's always a room for improvements.

I'll post another blog that will have some tips and specifics.

Thanks for reading. :)

Robiney_.png

Sort:  

This is very inspiring. I also did quit my job when I find myself not happy and it's not healthy anymore. As for the saving tips, that is very helpful especially for those kids/teenagers who doesn't know the value of money.

thank you. Just want to help others realize about the value of saving and investing. :D

I also agree that we don't live to work but we work to live. :D

I would like to quit my job if I can. But I have a family to support so I do with what I have. Investments is what I like. Thanks for sharing, I am very inspired to look for investments.

yes check my latest blog that will have other options for you. and when you've earned enough you can quit your job and maybe stick to your investment or get a better one.

Great article rob! I agree that we should strive to be better and save more for our future. It may be challenging if you are the "breadwinner" in the family, but saving even 50 pesos a day will go a long long way.

start and don't stop. Even little amounts will grow bigger eventually.

Nice post! Knowing how to save money has a lot of advantages- from buying the things you like to investing in a business. The youth should be taught about this.

indeed. There's nothing better than being ready. Also it feels so fulfilling. :D

Saving money is good for future purposes. Spend wisely.

exactly and always be practical. make time to invest and earn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65