Thrifting Electronics 5-3-2018

in #money6 years ago (edited)

Sorry about the lack of updates but life has been interfering with thrifting at the stores and few times I've been there I haven't seen anything worthwhile, which just means the next time might be some more decent profits.

Sold a JVC CD player (I had no remote), which I thought was going to go for quite a bit more than it went for, perhaps the ebay issues with people being unable to sell things was biting me in regards to this. The photo made it seem a lot more scratched than it really looks like in person. It ended up sitting about 2.5 months so I just had to keep reducing the prices.

XL-V282.jpg

I'm going to try to cross list some of these on offerup's new shipping section, the photos people have of their items are so awful that we should easily stand out in the sea of horrid photos.

Bankroll

$251 + 11.45 = 262.45

Sort:  

Right on duder! I've been well documenting a project I've dubbed the #upcyclingchallenge where I've started with $0 and am working to $1000. In 4 steps I've reached $776 and expect to reach $1000 in the next move or two.

Glad to see there are others also taking part in the idea of creating free money!

The Experimental Journey to $1,000 via Medium

I'm scared to touch electronics because value depreciates so quickly. I've found bigger ticket items with a pricetag of $150-$250 is a perfect moving price point!

Its the same as anything else on eBay, but it's mostly older stuff so the price doesn't change super fast. Find good brands and it sells.

You've found $150 items thrifting? Nice.

One piece of advice I've gotten that I really liked is that once you determine a price, just stick with it. Impatience is the only reason to reduce it. I've found that listing with the "Best Offer" option can also help as then you can gauge interest and maybe sell it a little easier if it's a longer tail item.

Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53