Why you should cycle to work, and give up the car #LifeHack 01

in #money7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Why you should cycle to work, and give up the car #LifeHack 01


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  
  • health benefits, and here in Zagreb, Croatia it's the fastest way of traffic in city centre and a parking space problem

you're so right about the time analysis! The more cars on the road, the more efficient the bike comes in relation to cars, although you might want to wear a filter in that situation!

NB - A friend of mine mentioned this scare story about saddles and male prostrate cancer, something I've yet to research, but apparently there's a link...

can anyone tell people like me if bicycle will be suitable for them when work is beyond 20 kilometers...

Personally I'd say that's too far for a daily commute, you'd need to move closer to work!

@revisesociology Great post! All costs aside, it also just feels incredible to walk into work with a great blood flow and energetic feeling after a bike ride. I'm all for it! Great message :)

I feel like most people these days are too reliant on automobiles (including myself), riding a bike is a far better mode of transport for your health, wealth and the environment!

It's easy to get 'locked in' - I just bought a car recently to facilitate a move out of the area (I simply need one to view multiple properties), first one I've owned in 15 years, they are such a money sink! Back to the bike once I've resettled.

I'm glad you mention buying a quality bike. Because state side you'll have to spend a minimum of $100 for a Schwinn bike that can handle any distance plus another $20 for a quality "Kryptonite" brand "u-lock" style lock. A seat cover is also something to remember.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Kryptonite-4-x-9-U-LOCK/10370936

Only $20 - I spent nearly $100 (equivalent) on mine! And buying quality is so worth it, I've NEVER had a puncture on one set of very thin road tyres, in many years. Of course, I might have just got lucky!

This post amuses me because the Kryptonite locks recently jumped in price as did the quality.

For my current two bikes the $20 lock is enough. When I move back out west and spend money on an actual good quality bike to run my errands with I'll be buying one of the $60 Kryptonite locks.

@revisesociology Amazing job! Followed.
This is supercool! Thanks! Followed

Why you should cycle - BECAUSE IT'S FUCKING AWESOME PERIOD.

I love my bicycle.

True! And me too! But I'm just too 'in my head' to to not add on some intellectual rational arguments too!

Haha understood!

And for sure, cycling I approve. Those e-scooters, wheelers or whatever thingies?! NO! Those scream of laziness.

Along with walking, cycling is my favorite mode of transport. I've cycled or walked to work in most cities I've lived, including Toronto and several cities in Japan.

Usually, it's faster to cycle than to take the bus or the subway. By the time you walk to the station, wait for the train (or bus), spend 30 minutes or more on the train, then get off and walk to your destination, you could have cycled there in much less time.

It helps if the city has a network of cycling paths. I spent the past 5 years in Singapore (a tiny city-state), which already has a few hundred kilometers of cycling paths -- along coastal parks, along rivers and canals, and along old, abandoned railway lines. It's planning to increase the cycling paths over the next few years to over 700 kilometers (if my memory is correct).

Cycling is not only great for health and inexpensive, it's also a great way for a city to clean up its air and to develop a system that does not rely so heavily on the automobile. Making for a cleaner, greener city.

very nice post I enjoyed reading it thanks for sharing. I have upvoted. I have a new story about how money plus money I hope you might like it thanks.if yu like do upvote

https://steemit.com/blog/@diverse-thinker/money-begets-money

i wish i could role the pedda and circle to my office daily, i just have to cut cost now. am.done upvoting this great post on steemfollower

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54