What being poor taught me

in #money6 years ago

blur-cash-close-up-545065.jpg

I never really had a lot of money.

My parents had enough to always give me what I needed, but they couldn't afford to buy me everything I wanted. I couldn't either, not even after I started making money online, with an old YouTube channel or even now, with writing and creating design packages.

However, while I'd love to have a lot of money, like everybody out there, I can at least say that I learned a lot of things from being more or less poor, things that are gonna help me handle myself well once I do get some financial stability.

First lesson, buying high quality products, even if it's gonna cost you a lot. There will come a point in your life when you'll want or need something, and you'll have two options: either wait more, work more, and buy the high quality thing, or just buy whatever you can now, at a cheap price, and be done with it.

If you choose the second option, then you'll get what you want really fast, but you'll probably have to change that thing soon. If you need a phone for example, something that you can use just for a few days until someone gives you a better one, then sure, go for something really cheap.

But if you need something that will last, get a good one, even if it's gonna cost you. I did that with my computer. I'm using it daily, and I needed something that will work for years. I saved a lot of money, working really hard for half a year, and I got it. It cost a lot of money, in some cases, more than a car, but it's worth it.

Second lesson is to never spend money on things you need. If you have a pretty limited budget and you can't afford to spend a lot of money on everything you want, that's the best way to learn how to only buy what you need and to ignore everything else.

When you will finally get some money, you'll be able to figure out what you can't live without, purchase that then save the rest of the money instead of buying other things that you don't really need. That's a smart thing to do even if you have enough money to spend - save as much as you can for darker days.

Third lesson is to learn how to make money. Sure, working hard pays off and investing a lot of time and effort into one thing is a great way of making money. But when you're in desperate need for some cash, you learn who to do all kind of small things to get some.

Some people will learn how to write for others to get paid even a few dollars a day, while others will learn how to automate most of their tasks in order to focus only on what's important. There are all kind of small things you can learn to do if you're in need of money, and that's gonna be useful no matter how stable your financial situation is.

There are, of course, a lot more things that you can learn if you're poor, but those are the most important parts, at least for me. While being rich is a great way of living, not having to worry about tomorrow and always getting what you want, being poor teaches you important lessons that you won't learn otherwise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99