How to always have some extra money

in #money6 years ago

blur-bronze-coins-144233.jpg

By saving some.

It's actually quite obvious.

I think that the main problem with the idea of saving money is the fact that the process is usually made up to appear as being a lot more complex than it can actually be. To be honest, if you start talking about banks and savings plans, then yes, everything may be complicated, and for a good reason.

However, when it comes to simply saving some money to always have some in case of an emergency, or just in case you want to buy something nice for yourself, the process doesn't need to be hard at all.

It involves small amounts of money being saved on a regular basis.

For example, let's say you get paid at the end of the month, and after you pay your bills, rent, and buy the things you may need to buy, like food, clothes, etc, you realize that you have some money in your wallet that you can spend on things you may enjoy, like going out for a coffee with a friend every week.

However, you never know when you may feel the need to buy something you don't need when you're out one day, and doing that may mean that you'll throw away all your money. Instead, what you can do, is save a small amount of money, an amount you think you won't necessarily need, and put it somewhere in your room/apartment/house.

You don't have to start saving hundreds of dollars, because you're not saving those money hoping you'll be able to retire early with them. You're just saving them to make sure you always have some extra money somewhere close to you. So, save $10. Save $20 if you feel like it. If not, save even $5.

Depending on where you live, $5 may mean more or less money when converted into your currency, so you can figure out for yourself how much you may want to save.

I did that a few weeks ago. I had some extra money in my wallet that I wasn't gonna use at all. So, I got $2 out and put it in a small wood box inside my room. The money is still there. It's not a lot at all, but in case I'll ever need $2, I'll have them there. This month I may save some more money, like $5, or $10, and then, if I'll ever need some extra money, I'll have $7/$12 saved in my room that I can quickly get and use.

This strategy is not about becoming rich or never worrying about anything in your life. It's about saving really small amounts of money that you don't necessarily need, and not spending it on anything unless you have to. This will offer you some extra security, it will teach you the basics of savings and, who knows, in the future you may be able to save money to buy something cool you want.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79