3 Ways To Stop Getting Distracted!

in #money6 years ago

When you are doing some kind of important work, then there should be no distractions, especially if the work is something you are less passionate about. Distraction in such times results in the loss of whatever passion you had for the work that you were doing.

Even though it's true that distractions can lead to creative ideas because if you are distracted by something beneficial and you take your 2 minutes to focus on that thing then it might give you some creative ideas for your work. For example, You are preparing a video for DTube but suddenly you received a notification that someone shared the tips for efficient videos creation. You can take your few minutes and spend your time there, and learn something new. That's going to make your work much easier and efficient than before and will open the room for creative ideas.

Distractions
Image Credits: NYT

So, distractions are not always bad but most of the times, they are bad, especially when you are working on something that you want to finish quickly. I've made my part of mistakes in the past and went through a lot of distractions while working on the important stuff, but I won't let you go through the same fortune. Let me share you the tips to stop getting distracted.

# 1 - Prepare a schedule and set specific rewards:

It often happens that we work on the specific time of the day. We might have different works and priorities every day, so it's best to prepare a schedule for each activity and decide how much time you want to dedicate to each activity. That will help you focus on the work and will keep you from things that usually distract your attention.

Rewards are the good motivators. You can set the rewards for yourself like if I'd complete the work within the scheduled time, I will spare 10 minutes for playing the game (or whatever you love most). Rewards help you concentrate on the work and care less for other things that may otherwise cause distractions.

# 2 - Turn off the notifications or switch your mobile off:

Our work is often related to the computer where we usually have Facebook and other accounts logged in. It's a good idea to quit all the applications that are running while you work except when they are necessary.

I used to keep my Skype and Discord running while working but now, I close all the applications and the most important reason for not having the WhatsApp installed on my phone is to save the time for productive works. Whether they are Facebook notifications or email notifications, if they are unnecessary, cut them off.

# 3 - Make sure that you are getting proper sleep:

Nothing distracts more than sleep, especially when you are working on something that you are less passionate about; like you do the work due to the order from the boss but you don't have enough interest in that area? It is possible that you'd feel bored and get distracted by the slump.

In order to avoid such situations, it is better to take at least 7 hours of sleep. Though I recommend everyone to take 8 hours of sleep because it has a lot of other advantages too. It will help you to feel completely fresh and you'll welcome the works with open arms because you are ready to take any challenge due to your mood.

As I said before, distractions can be good sometimes but it's not good to keep all the doors of distraction open just because some distractions could be good. For example, You can let the relevant groups stay active and mute other irrelevant groups at Discord while you work. Anyways, I hope you've enjoyed the post. If so, don't forget to follow me at @princewahaj for more useful updates. For your information, I am also running three series: SEO Tutorial Series, The Weird Series, and How-To Series. I'd welcome you there with open arms.

Sort:  

Thanks for this.
There is usually so much to do and it's always a struggle with time when distractions are allowed to also hold sway.
I look forward to practicing these tips u dropped and seeing my efficiency increase.

Asound sleep is the important one. Sleep provides everyone with physical and mental rest thereby refreshing yourself which further help is quality output..

What always worked for me was playing low music in the background. Personally I prefer something that is mellow enough to keep me from wanting to get up and be distracted. but it doesnt mean that what works for me also works for others. you must find your way to make yourself comfortable while doing things.. thanks to this tips i will definetly give it a try. :')

The more distractions you have
the more concentrated you get.

Greetings from Venezuela!

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.

Excelente conocer esto.

Good advice. thank you.

I liked your post, carefully read it and I liked your information, I will read your posts with joy.

I like your post,,
Very good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69