THIS IS WHY THE POOR REMAIN POOR!!

in #money6 years ago

hqdefault.jpg
Source

A couple of weeks back I met a charismatic black American CEO.

This guy's finesse and sense of style was 10 over 10. He looked like he walked out of a GQ magazine. Carlos was the kinda guy every guy wanted to be like.

I still recall the day I met him, as he talked to me in his American accent, I observed after a few seconds that I replied him in a 'posh' American accent.

Now I do believe this happens frequently to people but I guess this one time I literally caught myself switching UNCONSCIOUSLY.

It was not as though I'd DECIDED to switch to 'impress' Carlos, I just noticed I did and I wondered why.

Interestingly, as soon as the conversation was over and I was addressing the Nigerian at the lobby, I was back again to my REGULAR accent.

Apparently this desirable CHANGE was NOT SUSTAINED. But one undeniable fact was I CHANGED without even DECIDING to.

It then occurred to me that most (maybe not all) Nigerian folks who live abroad did not even CONSCIOUSLY decide to speak like Americans but end up sounding like them and that CHANGE IS SUSTAINED.

The difference was that my ASSOCIATION was MOMENTARY and theirs was REPEATED.

Invariably, without much effort on anyone's part, they are INFLUENCED by ASSOCIATION and this CHANGE is SUSTAINED by REPETITION.
images (2).jpg
Source

This is one of the secrets to wealth because TWO POOR PEOPLE CAN NEVER HELP THEMSELVES.

Your RESISTANCE to a new belief BREAKS by REPEATED ASSOCIATION with that new belief. Pretty much like how America's resistance to a black president broke by REPEATED ASSOCIATION with a series called 24.

Remember 24 had a charismatic black President? (yeah...my conspiracy theory...sue me )

Your networth is a reflection of your network. If ALL your friends are like you, you need new friends that are CURRENTLY producing the RESULTS you desire.

The poor remain poor because they huddle with the poor.

images.jpg
Source

rgpizxsejeohtqn7kijw.gif

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

This is so true. Get yourself around rich minds

very true sir.. tnks

Awesome one.. Life is meant to be lead to the fullest.

Yea.. Life is about maximizing ones full potentials.. Thanks sir

This is mind blowing, persistency is the goal of an "army".
Your association determines your elevation.

Very true @blessedfem.. Thanks for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50