What has value?

in #money8 years ago

As an artist I regularly attend art fairs selling my art work. Sometimes people really like the idea of buying art but worry about the financial side of a financial investment. Art isn't usually an established currency ie the value of it cant be readily transferred unless an artist has an established secondary market.

A regular conversation is " I'd like to start an art collection, but dont know where to begin". On more than one occasion this question has come from city traders, ie people who buy and sell stocks and shares where there is a historic and fairly quantified value system.

Its a tough one. At these shows I’m speaking to an educated person who has disposable income, they like what I do and yet there is a tiny bridge to be crossed before a sale can be made.

In the end I guess the value in art is determined by how a piece of art makes you feel and think. It is about shared beliefs and culture, what is good or bad. It may just come down to being about an attitude that can be related to, or not.

The piece below is printed on genuine bank notes. The series is sold out.

Sort:  

Ah, the struggle of an artist. I am very familiar. It can be quite discouraging at times.

at times... but I am aware thats my choice... and sometimes I am one of the "lucky" ones

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66