You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Pay Off Bad Debt And Save Your Future

in #money8 years ago (edited)

Great post, as always.

I am proud to have stayed debt-free all my life. I even didn't take a student loan with a low interest rate from the Swedish state, when it offered. No sir, I want to only spend the money that I have earned first, not the other way around.

I have managed to save enough money to get me through 4–5 months of living in Sweden, if I lose all sources of income at once. It could last me a year and a half, if I had to return to my parents’ house in Russia.

I manage to save roughly a half of my monthly income and put it into savings and investments. I have invested about one-third of my liquid assets in Bitcoin. Now this particular investment comprises about 3/7 of my liquid assets, thanks to the recent increase in price of Bitcoin. I also invest in stock market and in small Swedish start-ups whose founders I know and in whose business ideas I believe. And I put aside a small amount of money every month and buy a few grams of gold with it. I also have a private pension savings plan, on top of what the Swedish state and my former employers will pay me, when I get old.

The only regret I have is not having enough savings to invest in Bitcoin, when I first learnt about it (back in 2012). But, to paraphrase one of your previous posts, @getonthetrain: “the best time to buy Bitcoin was seven years ago, the second best time is today”.

Please keep sharing your wisdom on Steem: the people need to learn this!

Sort:  

Staying away from any debt is very commendable! I started out on a good path but became lost. Luckily I didn't hurt myself too badly, but I did fall behind due to the lost years.

I remember looking at bitcoin when it was $2.64, but I wasn't a believer. I couldn't see how it could do well backed by nothing. Well, that way of thinking has changed.

Your investments seem well diversified. You are surely far ahead of the crowd when it comes to having a great future, especially as you will continue to increase your wealth.

Thank you for the kind words, I will continue to write my thoughts on financial matters. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97