Money and the gig-economy

in #money5 years ago

I'm a freelance professional, before that I was a professional working for a consulting firm.

When I started my consulting company over five years ago I enjoyed the grind. If something needed to get done I put in more hours and at the end of the month invoiced for the work. I had a relatively high hourly rate for my experience and was able to work the hours.

Today, life is a bit different. I have a toddler and my partner is working to get their career off the ground. If something needs to get done, or paid for, I can't drop everything to add more to the bank account.

This is the gig-economy, sure I have it better off than most. My professional status allows me to charge more and work anywhere in the world from my home studio, but at the end of the day I still have my income and hours tied tightly together. This needs to change.

So, what am I going to do about it?

I don't know

I do know it has to change, and I'm going to let you in on the ride.
This isn't going to be a get rich quick scheme magnet, or some MLM scheme; I need a system to help me finish the client projects that I have now and transition into something different that can continue to feed family; without going crazy on the time commitment.

Here are my ideas so far:

  1. Build a course to sell to my clients
  2. Paid webinars
  3. Ebooks
  4. Packaged Services

As part of my business I have a small newsletter, from that I am hoping to get some ideas and continue building. My plan today is starting with the course and start pimping it out to my clients.

Follow along here

I'm going to build out a series of posts here about how I am doing, probably once a week where I will explain some of the main tasks that I did that week, how many hours that I spent working on it, and revenue/expenses.

While I'm getting started I'm expecting that there will be little in the way of revenue or expenses. I already have most of the technical infrastructure to get this going so I don't need to buy anything, but I do need to spend a lot of time building it out.

Follow me to join on this journey, this is likely to be the only topic that I will be writing about over the next couple of months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77