Our Steem Dreams - What is it we all hope to get from the new cryptocurrency socialmedia paradigm?

in #money7 years ago

We all have our dreams

Some of us dream of a house, or a car. Some of us dream of a job or a career. Some of us dream about sharing our heart, or our time, or our thoughts. Some of us dream about connecting with others, finding that ideal partner in life. Some of us even dream about finding our place in the universe, our reason for being here, and making that contribution to the universe that only we can make.

I don't mean to be trite, but when I discovered Steem, even at the age of almost 40, I realized its immense potential to help me realize my dreams. When I was younger, I had it all figured out. I was going to be a rich airline pilot. I would travel the world for free and have lots of time off. I was going to invest in the market and get the growth that was guaranteed historically over any 30 years (even including the Great Depression). That was in 2001 before the towers came down. I bought into the entire: "work hard, play by these rules, and your success is guaranteed" paradigm.

Things did not work out exactly the way I planned them.

While various setbacks ended my professional flying, and falling in with very bad company led me to become a lawyer, the main flaw in my financial plan, as many crypto fans already know, was that it was all built on trust in worthless rectangles of paper that represent debt not actual wealth.

My New Dream

is much simpler, and much more difficult to achieve than my dream from almost 20 years ago. I just want to live in a world where my kids and every other human being, are allowed to be productive, and to enjoy the fruits of our labor without an unnecessary banker class, which adds no value, stealing an ever increasing portion of said fruits. I want them to live in a world where they are not sent to war so that banks can write up more debt for the survivors of both sides to pay back.

Crypto Currency is the solution

because it gets the banker parasites off of our back and provides honest money that is not bound by debt. When I learned about blockchain technology, I wondered if it could be used for social media, then I discovered Steemit. Fundementally money is nothing but a ledger of who owns what. With the integrity of the blockchain, we no longer need to rely on self-interested overseers to provide this service.

I still have some of my more capricious dreams. I would still like to build/buy a small plane like an AirComp Compair 7. I would still like to travel in an RV. I would like to not be chained to my dayjob, and able to pursue more creative endeavors. Money, it will always have its limitations: it can buy you a companion, it can't buy you a friend. But honest money, like Gold, Silver, and Cryptocurrency, has the power to create an economy that better supports its producers.

Sort:  

Nice to see you in chat bro! :) UPvoted.

likewise. I didn't realize you were the one I was already following.

Nice article!By the way,I have upvoted your post,can you upvote my new post? Thanks

And following you!

I'm still waiting to go Asteroid Mining. So yes my friend, Dream big.

mine some bitcoin and ether

Mining my own Business, so to speak;D~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39