You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Using Bitcoin to save money on international bank transfers - part 1

in #money8 years ago

For me personally bank transfers are still a better value than crypto, but I transfer a very large sum once or twice per year. In the end I pay <0.2% in fees.

If I used Bitcoin I'd pay much more given that there are several third parties in the middle required to convert to fiat. Perhaps one day in the future I won't need to convert back to fiat to actually spend my money, then crypto will have the banks beat hands down.

Sort:  

That's a good point, how much you save also depends on how much you send, when dealing with percentage based fees. For very large amounts, as you say, bank transfers can still be a better deal. Personally, I find I can optimize my savings by sending anywhere from $1000 to $1500 per month. Past $2000 or so, it tends not to be worth it.

I dream of the day when crypto will be a universally accepted payment option everywhere. If only Amazon.com would start accepting it, I'd pay that way all the time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76