You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TimeBanking: Alternative Community Driven Economies

in #money6 years ago (edited)

I don't think it's entirely practical as long as people like lawyers and doctors have to go five and six figures into debt to acquire specialized skills. That up front makes their skill "more valuable" than that of the 13 year old babysitter. How are they going to recoup their education costs under the time bank system?

Where I see time banking working for professionals like that is in regard to pro bono and after-hours work. But then for doctors, what happens if there is a malpractice issue? Are they considered "on the clock" for insurance purposes or will they be entirely on the hook if a patient accuses them of doing something wrong? If I was a doctor I might be leery of exposing myself to somebody looking for an easy lawsuit target.

I think it's a great idea, I just don't see it going mainstream for those reasons (edit: unless some of that other baggage is removed first.)

Sort:  

I don't see this as a mainstream option either, but it is a good way to diversify and build up your community. I don't expect many doctors to jump on this, they aren't exactly worried about money or looking for alternative monetary system to support themselves. Those that are trying to find ways to insulate themselves, that are not in the top tier of earners, or have a passion to build tighter communities and live a more "off grid" life are more inclined to take an interest in something like this.

I'm really interested in giving it a try. I've registered and need to attend an orientation and then we'll see how it goes.

I'll be very interested to see how it goes. Personally I think it would be great if the concept spread, and people were able to become more independent as a result. Unplugging from the big central "system" as far as banking, and no longer being vulnerable to hiccups in the national economy, sounds pretty good :)

Unplugging from the big central "system" as far as banking, and no longer being vulnerable to hiccups in the national economy, sounds pretty good :)

It really does sound good and it merits exploration!

There are some aspects of this model that have the potential/risk to mirror communism so I do see flaws that will prevent this "as it stands" from becoming more mainstream.

Society and humans are very complicated and I suspect the value of this system depends heavily on the characteristics of the members of your community and how well you fit into that. I am eager to dive in and find out.

What skills are you going to offer to the time bank?

I suspect the value of this system depends heavily on the characteristics of the members of your community and how well you fit into that

I agree that that's a fact from what I've seen in action. People tend to do it voluntarily on a small scale anyway; I've seen ongoing "you do my hair and nails for free, I'll babysit your kid" type arrangements, for example. But I've also seen cases where, say, one neighbor helpfully plows the street every time it snows and the other neighbors are content to enjoy his efforts without actively reciprocating. It will be interesting to see how well it's working in your area!

We aren't really part of a neighbourhood or community, where we live there isn't a community centre or gathering area and people are so wide spread. Some of them work two hours away so you never really meet.

I hope that this will help us meet some like minded people that live within a reasonable distance. :)

I'm still thinking about what we'll offer. Website work, computer help, canning/preserving classes, business consulting/proposal writing ... not sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49