You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid (Financial Security for Dummies)

in #money7 years ago

This is excellent advice. Especially the last part regarding investing something you cannot lose. So many people want to max out credit cards for the next big thing. Why is it not okay to start small?

My Crypto portfolio is less than $300. And for me, that's an okay place to start. Will I add $25 here and there as we go and as something pulls my interest in to buy in a little more, sure. But if it all goes belly up, I haven't staked anything I can't afford to lose.

It's a lesson we all need to learn. Especially here in the states where we seem to be a country building on debt.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Much appreciated!

Sort:  

I am slowly building my crypto too. My initial investment was on Coinbase and only a couple hundred. Now I only have a few thousand, but that's after months and months of saving.

It has been very tempting to put things on credit cards though. For example, and there are comments to prove this, I "called the bottom" on Bitcoin Cash a while back. In other people's threads, I posted about it and wished I had money to buy some. That was when it went under $200. From what I understand, it reached over $900 this weekend. It was a no brainer to buy it, but I just didn't have the extra liquid cash to do it. :(

I'm not going to risk going into debt though to gamble on crypto. Who knows what could have happened. BCH could have failed horribly.

Yes, the USA is done. It's over here. There's no graceful recovery from the debt and obligations the US government has. I'm not sure exactly what will happen, but it is going to be a huge mess. At the least we are looking at a Greater Depression.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35