You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Writing is on the Wall. The Canary is Dead. What are We to Do?

in #money8 years ago

That is a great analysis on what is going on and to me it looks like you are doing many good things. It is so hard to tell how this is all going to go down. Another option for gold that I found because of Peter Schiff selling his business to them is getting a Goldmoney account and have some gold in different locations around the world. I even transferred some Steem Dollars to Bitcoin then to a vault in Dubai just to see if I could and it worked. Really cool. Now that is my referral link they give us and if people use that then they get 10% bonus gold with their deposit up to a gram free. I think that Singapore is a good vault location. What do you think of this?

Sort:  

I don't know where you physically are, but I do agree with distribution of wealth... meaning qualitatively and quantitatively distributed... physical locale and political locale... even distributed so that it is by design out of your reach should a "persuasive" individual "request" you provide access to it.

If I had physical gold in Singapore I personally could not easily gain access to it. Nor could I protect it, particularly when countries have begun legally requiring disclosure of offshore wealth. It is a solution with its own flaws that can be one tool in a toolbox of complimentary solutions.

Yes I agree that we need many tools in our toolbox. I've been also diversifying my sources of income not just asset protection. I know that some people have a hard time with network marketing but if you have the right company and product you can earn income from all around the world with really no risk. Even though steemit isn't networking it still income coming in from around the world. Only thing is if I don't personally write an article then the income stops. But what is nice with one company I work with now is that they take bitcoin as payment so I can use the money I make here to pay for my product.

I'm working aggressively to diversify my income and reduce my expenses myself. The best source of income is that which requires nothing from you to produce. So along those lines...

Running a company requires great effort. Putting others in charge and incentivizing them (profit-sharing, equity stake, etc) requires little effort and becomes passive income albeit reduced... but now I'm free to rinse and repeat.

Flipping real estate takes effort. Renting real estate takes little (assuming you have a third party handle the management)

Actively trading in markets requires effort. Passive income on capital deposits (used to) require no effort.

Because of fiscal policy even precious metals are effectively passive income producing from the perspective of a fiat currency world, though thats not strictly true.

I apply this principle universally...
Growing corn for food requires great effort. Planting sweet potatoes requires virtually none.

Eating the weeds and other wild plants takes even less effort! : )

@haphazard yeah but that ain't as easy at is seems. If deer aren't touching it it's probably not viable for humans either. There's a reason they raid gardens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67