You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Programmable Money Help The Welfare State?

in #money5 years ago

What a misconstrued assumption thinking that people who receive aid spend it on "drugs and alcohol."

How authoritarian of you, to further control people's lives, simply because government has made us the only species on the planet who has to pay for a place to live and food to eat.

Before colonization, food and shelter were a basic right, how sad that now basic rights are seen as something that should be even more controlled.

Sort:  

So what would your solution be?

Our land generates enough wealth to feed and house. Let us give people a basic income that can feed and house them and their families.

Look at extremely rich families who don't have to worry about food, shelter and education - the Kardashians and Hiltons are a minority, many of those families produce leaders, doctors, professors, and professionals of all kinds.

Let us stop assuming that people are lazy, incompetent and need to be forced into action.

Take the steem verse for example. Let us say that steem moons to the point where we no longer have to worry about money. How many of us would spend our days drunk and high? How many of us would use our time to spend it with our families, volunteer at our schools, work on our gardens and homes, educate ourselves and read?

I really cannot speak for the US, never been there don't know what it's like to live there.

I'm from South Africa, I grew up in Apartheid a highly authoritarian regime I know what its like first hand. I've worked in the slums, I've lived in the slums and I'm basing my judgement on what my peers who grew up in poverty were doing.

I can't say what will work in one region will work in another, people are different, they think differently, have different backgrounds, ways of thinking, group dynamics. South Africa is very much a welfare state and we cannot simply stop handouts, but we also cannot increase it because well theres such a high population that are unemployed there's only so much that can be redistributed.

It's not that radical to say certain money comes with strings attached, almost all money does. What I'm thinking is that if money is given that is programmable that can be redeemed by certain stores and perhaps even discounted when used at small business vendors its enough to drive the velocity of money in the right directions to help people out of poverty.

I have not dismissed your idea nor called you any sort of this or that. I am happy to listen to all ideas. If you think my idea won't work thats fine

From my limited understanding of South Africa, its seems that the Native People, just like the Native People here in the "United States" were robbed of their basic way of living. Land was taken away, basic resources were redistributed to the colonizers, and then the question of "what do we do with these poor people now" came to be.

People need land, people need opportunity to grow.

Handouts are a bandaid. We need something to care for and tend. It is sad to me that we want to control people more instead of find the ways and opportunities to let them thrive.

I did call you "authoritative" and my dismissiveness of your idea came from the assumption that people want to be drunk and high, instead of recognizing that drugs and alcohol are a means of escape for desperate people who want to create good feelings in their lives.

I guess the only "real" solution is the solution that we can work on ourselves. For me, it is making sure that everyone in my community receives proper education, the ability to read, and form thoughts for themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29