"Don't make the rich poor. Make the poor rich." - Ben Shapiro

in #money7 years ago

rsz_getting_aroundnew_york_5.jpg


Not sure if that's exactly what Ben Shapiro said, but I promise you that it's the same message.

Trust me, I'm all for helping each other rise and succeed. But when it comes to either giving someone a fish or teaching them how to fish, I would much rather teach someone how to fish!

rsz_teach-sayings-give-a-man-a-fish-feed-him-for-a-day-teach-a-man-to-fish-feed-him-for-a-lifetime.jpg

Image Source

The reason why I bring this up is that I watched a Ben Shapiro video and he said the quote in the title. There are many people who want to place taxes on the rich in order to help fund welfare and other financial aid services. I understand that there are some people that truly need financial aid so that they get back on their feet, but we can't say that there aren't people who are taking advantage of these services.

I'm not a politician and I don't wish to talk about politics more than I already have. All I'm saying is that people who are in need of financial aid need to learn how to no longer need the aid after a set period of time. If they don't learn certain strategies and skills, they may become dependant on the aid. Don't take money from the rich in order to simply hand to the poor. This won't make anything better. If, for some reason, you still want to take money away from the rich, have it be voluntary and use those funds to improve the education system and financial education. I say voluntarily because there may be some people who see the benefit of it and actually want to help. But if you work hard for your money, would you want it to be forcibly taken away from you?

I understand this is a very heated debate. But no one want to become poor and no one wants to remain poor. Being handed money is essentially a band-aid on top of the problem. In order to really help people, we have to show them how to use their money correctly and how to set up their life for success. It's a lot more difficult for some than others, but everyone can benefit from financial education. Everyone needs to know how to fish!


Best Wishes!


o n t h e r o a d.jpg

Sort:  

I love the qoutes byLao Tzu. Thanks for sharing

A great quote to live by!

Wise words spoken, and a really good point. Some of those who struggle with having no money dosent see a solution on their own problems, and it is like an never ending loop. Some hasn’t even felt the good feelings about hard work, and the extra good feeling when getting high payment.

Exactly! I understand that there may be some people that need help, but they shouldn't live and rely solely on that help. The purpose of the help is for them to eventually not need it! The only way for that to happen is if people are educated about finances and for them to develop skills. It's possible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65