Why are people hating on whales?

in #money8 years ago

Hey steemians.

Don't get me wrong, I do understand that there are potential issues arising with the front page trending section. I know that the vast majority of the reasons that there is such a high value to the most trending posts are because of whales and therefore it seems that a small percentage of the steem community decide what trends.

However, I do feel that maybe us little fish are perhaps being a little unfair sometimes from a couple of the posts I have read.

The facts are this:
Yes. Whales provide a large dollar boost when they upvote a post
Yes. Little fish (or minnows as I have heard them called) provide a small amount

But I feel like this isn't the fault of the Whales, they are just doing something we all do, they just have more effect for the time being.

I think sometimes due to the amazing nature of the social media platform and the fact that it's such a fast growing and innovative project, we may forget that steemit is in beta and it is a trial and error project.

All I want to say is, I love the whales and I love the minnows. Let's all make some amazing content.

Thoughts?

Sort:  

en·vy

/envē/ noun

  1. a feeling of discontented or resentful longing aroused by someone else's possessions, qualities, or luck.
    "she felt a twinge of envy for the people on board"
    synonyms: jealousy, covetousness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50