You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Don't Agree With Capitalism

in #money7 years ago

Whatever happened to the concept of enough? I have enough food, clothes, and so on. For example, I don't need 35 pairs of shoes. I can only wear one pair at a time! But I do need some specialty shoes and boots so somewhere around 7 or 8 is more than enough for me.

The fear of not enough is what drives the madness. I grew up in a household that did have a stash of food for emergencies... a closet or shelving unit full. We lived in areas where winter storms could knock out power for a few days.

The real issue is fear. It drives the capitalist minds. Someone might have more... I'm not getting a big enough share. It's back to the 5 yr old sandbox emotional state.

And it is destroying us, personally, environmentally, and emotionally.

Consider what is enough for you for a few moments. it won't ever be the same for everyone. But what can you scale back on? You know reuse, reduce, recycle.

Save the planet, save yourself...

Sort:  

Wise words. Greed is definitely a driving factor. And fear only amplifies it. I do believe that people start to wake up and realize that Nature is our greatest treasure, and we should take care of our tiny blue planet.

I sure hope so! Steemit is a good way to get past the greed, as we all work together to generate steem. Now to translate that into the world at large.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48