You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am Trading My Bitcoins For Steem

in #money8 years ago

Steemit has great potential, no doubt, but Bitcoin has the first mover advantage. It's the defacto standard cryptocurrency.

For trading, Bitcoin is a solid investment, though the rewards won't be significant. At this stage, STEEM is a high risk strategy, but one that may well pay off very, very handsomely. It's worth a risk, I'd say, but I wouldn't get rid of all my Ethers or Bitcoins yet.

Sort:  

First mover advantage is good, but it is not the decisive factor, because others have a chance to improve their platform from first mover mistakes and successes. For example, Blockbuster was the place to rent movies, but before Netflix. Netflix delivered movies to your house at first, while Blockbuster wanted you to come to their store.
Steemit is risky, but I do like this reward system more than mining, because mining does not produce anything, and it spends a lot of power.

I'm very comfortable with the fact that it could totally blow up in my face. I think Steemit will be the thing that pulls the non technical crowed into crypto. That is worth a lot.

"In some industries, under some circumstances, it’s much better to enter late.”
http://insight.kellogg.northwestern.edu/article/the_second_mover_advantage

Ethereum has the second mover advantage. :)

But, yes, you are right. For being so early, Bitcoin hasn't really been able to take the platform to the mainstream, even after these many years. So yes, the market is ripe for disruption.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42