FIRST 5 CAR BUYING TIPS! Consider this before you BUY! From a Ex Car Salesman of 15yrs.

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Looking into getting a New or Pre-Owned car soon?

Here are some tips to help your process at the car dealership go faster, smoother, andSAVE A LOT OF MONEY!

Tip 1: Find a VETERAN SALESMAN!

car-sales-1.jpg

If you get a "Rookie",,,,you get a "Run Around".

A Vet will have more tricks up his/her sleeve, but then again, the rookie will take every rebuttal you throw at him to his manager. This will cost you HUGE AMOUNTS of time versus a veteran who can take most matters into his/her own hands.

To find a veteran, simply pull up to the dealership and ask the first salesperson you speak to how long they have been selling cars. If they say 1 month,,,,ask for the manager.

Once you meet the manager, explain that your not trying to offend the new guy but you have some "Tough" question that only a veteran would know.

NOTE: Never fear telling a sales person that your not comfortable dealing with them! You may be a fast paced person and get a slug salesperson or so on and so forth. Never fear asking for someone else to step in and take over. I have had this happen a few times in my career as a sales person and I never once took offense to it.

Tip 2: Make the salesman fall in love with your family!

man_hearts_glasses_love_funny-2560x1600.jpg

I am a soft hearted guy! My weakness was the customers I fell in LOVE with! I loved running the assholes through the ringers, taking my time with getting a car from the back, filling out paper work, etc. Anything to keep the asshole sitting at my desk for as much time as possible. Now you take a nice family with beautiful children and a pleasant husband and wife, and I was butter. I melted and ended up most times walking away with a HUGE dent in my commission.

Talk about sports men! Talk about clothes, shoes, makeup to female sales women,,,ladies.

"You" find a common ground to win over the sales person,,,,,because,,,,,trust me,,,,,he or she is trying to find a common ground with you to win over your trust.

Play the same game! Even the score! It will help a TON when it is time to negotiate.

Tip 3 : NEVER try to act "Not" excited about the car your looking at!

1.jpg

As a veteran salesman, I HATED IT when "Any" customer I loved or hated tried to act like they were not feeling the cars I am showing even the slightest. It brings up my anti-trust walls. In return I also became combative towards the customers I was in love with just a mere 30 mins previous.

If you really like the car,,,,,,SAY IT! SHOW IT! Tell the salesman/woman your really digging this car! Keep the relationship honest and open and you will get much better results. Besides, if you played your cards right thus far, this sales person is going to bend over backwards to help you out as much as possible anyway.

Enjoy your experience! If you enjoy your car shopping journey,,,,and your sales persons help,,,I promise you will not bust into flames.

Tip 4: DO NOT FORGET YOUR TRADE IN

5762a126d3b4601ab58add224d453adf.jpg

Oh Yea! We are trading in a car! I almost forgot about our old clunker

Never forget about the value of your trade. You should ALWAYS look up your cars value on http://www.kbb.com and http://www.nada.com.

Both could have a different value for your particular car, with the extra features (Sunroof, Leather, Aluminum Wheels, Etc) minus the mileage that is currently on your vehicle. Print out both finds and bring them with you.

Always play up the value of your car as the sales person tries to play it down! If the salesman mentions the crack in the windshield, then you come back with "But it also has new tires!".

If the salesman brings up the stained carpet, then you reply with"Yes, but I just had the oil changed!", etc.

Most people want out of the old ride so bad that they under value it. This is a bad move on your part. Your car could be worth $1500-$3000 more then what the dealership is offering you. Do your homework on this part before you even head out to the dealership.

Tip 5: NEVER fall for the 4 square system!

4square1.jpg

It is much different now than back when this sheet was used.

In a nut shell, a sales person will lay out a sheet of paper like above and it will show terms 48, 72, 84 month payments and on the other side will show your note with "X" as the down payment amount for each term and note.

This is the old but new magic trick! The sales person is hoping you will choose a

Term (Months)
Down payment (What you can afford to put down)
Monthly payment (How much per month you will pay)

This "Magic Trick" allows the dealership to reduce your trade amount, bump your interest rate, and mark the car up according to your down payment, term, and note.

NEVER FALL FOR THIS METHOD OF NEGOTIATION! Grab the paper,,,place it to the side and ask the salesperson,

What are you giving me for my trade in?
What are you willing to take for your car?
What will my note be for the car minus trade?
What is my interest rate?
And once you give me all of these answers, then I will tell you how much I will put down to get my note where I am comfortable with paying it.

NOTE: The dealership may have to run your credit to pin point this part! ONLY ALLOW them access if this is the car you want! Running your credit all day at 10 different car lots can bring down your credit score.

Simple! Remove the Rubic Cube attempt on your car, money and payment!

Rubiks_cube_by_keqs.jpg

I hope this helps you guys thus far! DO NOT RUN OUT JUST YET! I will have more tips on how to protect yourself once you reach finance as well.

See Second Part Here!

https://steemit.com/money/@kineticenergy/second-4-car-buying-tips-finance-office-tactics-from-a-ex-car-salesman-of-15yrs

OH YEA! They can get you even after negotiations. Stay tuned! In the mean time,,,,,Steem On!

Sort:  

OMG...I know this one salesman everything we said or asked he said excuse me let me talk to my mgr....so he was definitely new...finally his mgr talked to us geez...and the car it was mother of all other lemons! LOL

Well that sucks! I know, cause I was the "New Guy" at one time. I was scared to say anything. In the end, the only time I would seek management was when we had came to a conclusion on the vehicle. The new guy is a "Time Sucker"! LOL Thanks for reading! Hope it helps for next time.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you! Glad you liked it. I hope it helps with your next car/truck purchase.

This is absolutely an epic read. Especially as a former car salesmen you provide so much freakin value sooo:

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thank You! Many years into this business. I can help others save, so I share. :)

You're welcome heck yeah I am nominating it tonight so @ocd will vote on it tomorrow. You are doing great things :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48