Started working Rinse last week

in #money7 years ago

Rinse is a gig style work. Its flexible and you can spend a few hours doing it to earn some cash. Its laundry delivery. Not sure how many cities they cover, seems like only three or four large cities near the coasts.

The gig is, you pull up, load up your car with bags of laundry, then deliver it. You pick up stuff to be laundered on your way too. You typically make 16 to 20 stops during your shift, which lasts about 2 hours of driving. Before and after, you spend about 30 minutes to load in and out. So, its about $50 for all of this. You get bonuses for more shifts you work, so on your third night of the week, you get an extra $5, then another after that, ending up to $70 per shift if you do seven shifts a week.

$50 for 3 hours of work comes out to be about $16.6 per hour, which isn't bad for some mindless delivery work.

So far, I'm liking it. Easy money, there's a bit of effort involved depending on where your route takes you, but for a desk jockey, this is needed exercise. I think of it as going to the gym and getting paid for it. I guess if you take that tack, a construction job is a better paying gym gig. :-)

I work in San Francisco, so some of the hills are murder, and GPS doesn't account for them. After my second night out, I learned to avoid using some of the streets that go over steep hills. If you've never driven in San Francisco, there are hills that are steeper than 45 degrees here, so its gnarly to drive, but hearing my poor old CRV groaning as she's trying to crest these monsters literally hurts my soul. Parking in San Francisco is also an issue, if you're adversed to parking in strangers' driveways or double parking, you're not going to like this job. Since you deliver at night, its usually not an issue to just park and run up for your delivery. Speaking of running up; I hate apartment buildings with no elevators. Imagine lugging 30 pounds of laundry up 5 flights of stairs. Luckily, this doesn't happen too often, but enough that I need to speak about it. Again, good excercise.

I'm going to stay with this for a few months and just get extra cash. I thought about doing Lyft or Uber, but really don't want to deal with strangers in my car.

Sort:  

Great for you. Awesome attitude. Take some of that money and invest in cryptos. Best of luck to you!

Why only in America? No money for me. I am so, so, so sad 😔

Why only in America? No money for me. I am so, so, so sad 😔

Congratulations @khaavy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42