OMG I’m Putting In My 2 Weeks At My Job!!

in #money8 years ago (edited)

 photo df2beaf7-5940-415e-8f39-a660f36fdc3b_zpsuivseplq.jpg

This is the riskiest thing I’ve ever done in my life! And I’m really crossing my fingers that it will pay off!

I’ve been through so much over the course of the last five years, I've had to make a lot of tough decisions.


One part time job
One part time job, One full time job & Full time School
Two Part time jobs and School
One part time Job and school
One Part time job
Self-employment


Why the hell am I not feeling any closer to where I want to be In life?
My dream is to travel, To explore, I want to help the environment
And I want to create art!

I was told as a child, That if you worked hard, You’d get anything you wanted out of life

That was the biggest lie I’ve ever heard in my life

I attended college like a good little girl, I worked multiple jobs!
I never felt closer to any of my goals

My bank account was drained and starving, My legs were hurting from all the biking to and from school, And to and from work. I was miserable and unhappy, and I never got to do art

I came to the sick terms…

Maybe one day… When I retire, I can do art, I can be happy and free.

Life lost all meaning when I realized, that was my future

Why do I have to wait until I am old and broken physically to be happy in life? It's MY LIFE!

I was so heart broken, I continued the brutal process of going to my jobs and school, I felt like I was wasting away and dying inside.
I worked for a shipping company as one of my part time jobs. I worked with a wide range of people, Many who had college degrees…
They were stuck at the same job I was.
I worked hard hoping I could move up, But It never happened. The union prevents any unequal treatment, We are given raises equally. It doesn’t matter if you load 3,000 boxes in a night or just 800.
That job was brutal, Id come home in so much pain, All bruised and beat up,

 photo cellphonephotos066_zpso6bfnrxa.jpg photo IMG_4458_zpsgnbasra0.jpg  photo cellphonephotos050_zps13rmwheu.jpg

Why am I doing this?

So I can pay my upcoming tuition bill.

What is school doing for me right now?

What have I learned?
After watching my college professor walk in drunk for a couple days of class.. I lost a lot of respect for college in general. Then when I actually paid attention to what I was learning and how I could apply it to my life, I lost even more respect for college.

I HAVEN’T LEARNED ANYTHING!

Yet I’m so broke I can barley feed myself!
I can’t even own a car!

I HAVE NEVER OWNED A CAR!

Medical expenses, school, Pretty much put me in so much debt I can’t purchase one,
I wrote an article about the medical debt here.

I decided to quit school, Then I quit one of my part time jobs.
I started publishing books about saving money… I started making t shirt designs, I started drawing again. I actually felt for once in my life.

That I was making the right choice!

The money rapidly grew, I started an online store.
I tried the survey thing,
I started investing.
I still worked at my part time job at the shipping company…

Then my favorite supervisor quit,

He became self employed. Something I was working to do. But I wasn’t financially capable to quit,
But it started a massive fire inside me.
The Adult Coloring book trend started,

I STARTED PUBLISHING COLORING BOOKS.

 photo Animalforest_zpssxz0jiza.jpg
Digital art? WTF is that!? Some of my coloring books were FAILURES!
But that’s okay, I kept learning and trying,
My books started to gain traction.
A year after my supervisor quit, And I couldn’t take it anymore.

I HATE MANAGEMENT

Ive had so many other supervisors and they never replaced the one they had. I rapidly lost respect and stopped working hard.
I can’t work for anyone anymore.

I have to be my own boss… I HAVE TO MAKE IT!

Now at 23 I’m taking the plunge, I’m kind of being a bit .. Stupid.

I have no savings, and I do have some debt. But while at my job that hasn’t changed. So maybe with this business that I started, this business that I’ve been growing I can make it!
I’m giving up 4 years of seniority, Health insurance, dental, Tuition reimbursement, 3 weeks paid vacation, Paid option days, Paid sick days,

But I don’t use most of it, I’ve been in and out of the dentist over 4 times in a month. Trying to take advantage of the insurance, before I’m cut off.
I’m about to put in my two weeks, And I’m so terrified. The only time I gave my two weeks is through text that one time, ( I tend to leave jobs the WRONG way.)

The anxiety of the whole situation is killing me, But I crave the freedom, I crave art. and I hope this isn't something I regret later.

But here I go, Wish me luck!!!

Sort:  

It's inspirational seeing someone doing the same thing as me. I'm just a 19yr old male version of you that hasn't graduated college. I'm going to put a third of my money into a drone tomorrow so that I can start creating video content to post on this site as that has always been a dream of mine. I want to make enough money on Steemit so that I can quit my job that my heart isn't really in. Follow your heart, even if you don't make money, you'll be happier with yourself and your decision. And you'll be your own individual which is the most attractive quality in a person, someone who is their own person and does their own thing.
I'd love if you could check out my content too as I'll be buying the drone tomorrow and posting pictures of it.

Omg that is amazing stuff you are working on! Thank you, That is a great idea, I didn't think of it that way, In case I don't make money! I'll be checking out your stuff for sure!!

Hi Lyn!

I wish you tons of Luck and I think you will be just fine! You have a lot of talent in art and writing, and I think you will be able to make something from that.

I bought your book, Animal Forest: Coloring For All Ages, from Amazon and it arrives Saturday! Can't wait to get it in my hands!

Wishing you all the best! smile

Oh my gosh thank you Kenny :) Thank you for always supporting me here on Steemit and you bought my book!? I am so flattered!!! I can't wait to hear how you like it ;)

Straight out of a movie. The actions you make today will not only serve a lesson to you but the lessons around you giving them a second thought about their situation. You got that motivation and are indeed a go getter and it really is an inspiration to people who go day to day to their mind numbing jobs and makes them think what they really want. the difference is that you have the guts to put it on the line its gonna be a scary tough road but its the road you take that leads you to struggles, hardships, new friends, connections and the possibility that you'll be successful. no matter what shine on and be positive the whole time especially in this dark world. Lin

Thank you Denton hehe :)
It's so true! I can't wait to see what happens! Maybe I'll hire you one day and we can both have dream jobs !! hhee

Someone that can help will read this and you'll be one your way to freedom. Have you tried looking into. Threadless.com or society6.com you can make money from your art. Open stores and sell and promote it, even through here also. I'm on there its a struggle also but hey thats the fun part of life. Cheers!

Ohh thank you for those! I will look into them, I use Redbubble a little bit, But I've generated most of my income from book sales :)

Kay then do what has continued to work for you and dont ever look back. Do what brings piece to your heart , mind and soul. Everything else should be second to that...life is short and risk have to be taken to succeed.

Congratulations! Do it now while you can.

You are still very young. It takes time to learn things and find out where you belong and what makes you happy in life. Persevere though it all - keeping your mind and eyes open, but never forget - there is always other opportunities, you just sometimes have to look in other places.

Thank you ! I will definetly keep my eyes open to everything <3 I feel like I was sheltered a good portion of my life, so I want to explore.

This is the best thing I've read all day. You have learned a lot and bust your butt. You are young, follow your dreams. People forget that. There are plenty of ways to make money. Finding ways to make money doing what you love will always give you a happier life. Good Luck!!!! :) :) :)

Aww thank you so much!
I am so excited and i figured it would be better to take the risk now, Rather then wait until I have kids or other larger responsibilities!

That's very true. It's much more difficult with a family and/or debt. Better to take a chance when you are younger. So many people are scared to do that now days. They regret that later and feel trapped.

True! I really don't want to get to that point! Many of my coworkers are telling me I'm being stupid for doing it, Because of the great benefits I'm getting, But I can always come back later if necessary.

It's risky... but there is risk in everything. Risk is manageable if you know how to do it. And yeah there will always be 9-5 jobs to go back to if necessary.

please go ahead and become what you want to become. Good luck, I feel like the only way i could become truly happy is if i'm able to become financially free trough my own efforts. Regardless, I still play the lotto like once a week.

True! Financial freedom is such a great feeling :)
Good luck with the Lotto! I hope you win!
Sadly I live in Utah and can't play. They don't sell any tickets here.

You've got this!
Good luck :D

Thank you so much heheh!!!

Very inspiring, thanks for your story, i'm looking forward to read more from you :)

Thank you very much hehe :) I love steemit and I'll be here for a while.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80