Is College Worth It?

in #money7 years ago

Is college worth it?

534c64c051bf7a13382fabafe99743c06d75ce6beea9742c1e9b4bc254957c17.jpg

As an eighteen-year-old 2017 high school graduate, I feel like I’ve been drilled about college. For four years I have visited colleges some have even come to my school telling us how better they are then the others. I’ve taking the pre-Act and the real Act praying to God that it was high enough to help me get in my dream college or better than that a full ride. Who wants to be 100,000 dollars in debt?

Honestly, college looks so fun I mean you get to get some time away from your parents. Play beer pong with all the girls in your sorority and go through that whole finding your shelf in life and at the end of it all, you have a fancy new degree. It doesn't matter where you come from you can leave it behind and become this whole new person with tons of opportunely. Sounds great right? Well back to the 100,000 dollars in debt part, that amount of money is a good chunk of money. Let's think of all the things you can buy for 100,000, you could buy a Range Rover or Mercedes. You could invest in real estate and make more money with it, the possibilities are endless. I know college is investing in yourself so let's say I’m like my aunt who is a dental hygienist and has student loans. My estimate from the schools she went to is she is about 130,000 dollars in debt when she got out. She graduated at the age of 23 and start work actually which is pretty good. She makes really good money drives a nice car and has a big house in the country. Which would like the dream but, she is 37 and just now has paid off one of the cheaper loans with four more loans to go. Half of her paycheck goes to student loans she also does odd jobs to help her pay her bills.

fullsizeoutput_109.jpeg

Then there are people like my mom, she was going to business school when she got pregnant with me and had to quit because she was bed rest. She had a lot of complication with her pregnancy and after she had me she realized she didn't want to send me to daycare all the time and she wanted to be a stay at home mom. Her college loans still haunt her today, her credit score is horrible which makes her unable to buy a house and her car payment are through the roof just from the student loans that she can't even afford to pay. My grandpa has never gone to college and claims that it was a miracle that he graduated high school. He farmed for a couple years then went bankrupt and had to work in a factory. While he was factory he started a trailer business that thrived. He is debt free and has a great business that makes great money and they don't teach how to make trailers in college and he has no business degrees that taught him how to run one.

Everytime I think about going to college I think about how I could buy a range rover or invest and real estate and make it into more money. College seems like a lot of fun and I would love to be apart of the college experience. I honestly just want to make a lot of money and work for myself, I hope to become a millionaire one day. The debt is just not appealing to me and I’m afraid it would be my worst mistake. The question of is college worth it is more what do you want to do for the rest of your life which is even harder. You have do decide for yourself. Is it worth it for you?

6359913656085196761135783133_diploma_15539910-655x280.jpg

Thanks for reading, if you enjoyed follow and upvote : )

Sort:  

@karliedan
Beautiful writeup!Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36