Money is value. Value is not money.

in #money6 years ago

Money is meant to represent value. It does a good job of it. However, value is not always represented by money.

If I buy a banana for a quarter, that quarter represents the agreed upon value of that banana. If there’s a shortage of bananas, they might cost more. If there are too many bananas, they might cost less.

Let’s say bananas are all that someone needs to have a good life. If my job allows me to afford all of the bananas I need, at some point I don’t need more money.

Let’s say I don’t enjoy the job I work to get bananas. When I don’t need more bananas, I don’t need more money to buy bananas. When I don’t need more money, I don’t need to work more.

If I don’t enjoy the job I work to get bananas, then time spent not working is worth more than more bananas. So, time spent not working is worth more than money that could be used to buy more bananas. I get more value, without getting more money. Value is not money.


David Kadavy Steemit

I quadrupled my creative productivity. Sign up and I'll send you the tools I count on »

Sort:  

50.00% vote courtesy of @kirkins and the @dsnap project, send your bid to @dsnap.bot!

Haha, smart. I like your analysis.

Quite right! 👍

This is why some in Italy thinking that our culture (in addition to the economy) is founded on a banana republic.

Very interesting post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45