Do I love money? YES! (an artist view on it)

in #money7 years ago

Hi friends and family of steem it. Today is a strange day for me because some changes have happened in my life. As some of you know that I am a singer-songwriter and producer. My whole life is surrounded by music. Even in my dreams I dream of mixing and messing around with plugins. You know that artists and in my case musicians have such a deep love for what they do that sometimes they don´t care about money when it comes to performing their art.
street_musician.jpg I lived like that for a long time. Not exactly like that guy but just whole-heartedly giving it all for the music. And by that I mean, sleeping on floors, couches, barely eating, poor rest, poor welcoming by owners and locals, etc... Artists go through that and much more just to deliver their passion to even one person.I will turn 30 years old on november and I have changed my life in that aspect of music. I asked myself do i love money? YES! I do love money like I love many other things. To love something to me means to want it, to want it around for as long as I want or for as long as this life allows me to. I came clear with myself and as much as I love the bohemian life and everything that is spontaneous, I like to have more control over what I like to experience and deliver. You might be saying what does money have to do with this? Well clear and simple , I like to get paid for what I do and I value my work and experience and would like to be valued and taken care of financially well for each performance of mine. May it be as a producer, arranger, mixing engineer, studio or live musician. The only way for me to do my work and feel inspired and free is by having money in my account. Is that simple as for this moment and in this circumstances of my life. I have 3 daughters and my country Venezuela is going through really tough times and for an artist you can imagine how hard it can get in times of crisis. Nightlife and festivals here have dissapeared quite a lot in this times. Caracas which is our capital has been a very important place for artists around the world to perform. We are the country that welcomes you when you arrive in south america and the situation has caused events and performances to move to other countries such as Colombia, Mexico, United States. We just have to re invent ourselves. Multitask and simply find other streams of income to bring home the bacon. When I post on here is basically to remind myself of my roots and what I stand for. I stand for the artists and creators. All of should value our work and never undervalue it, because when you do that you are allowing other people to put a price on our job. We are as important as doctors, We heal people! We help. In this and any time we should be greatly rewarded for it.makeartmakemoney_jimhenson.jpg

Sort:  

Great post! While I have not been through everything that a lot of other musicians have been through, I do understand many of the difficulties associated with trying to head in the direction of do something I love and enjoy.

Thank you! Means a lot

Cuz steemit is the key =D

Congratulations @jonahramirez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @jonahramirez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45