This is what I know...

in #money7 years ago

man-with-dollar-sign-01.png

I'm going to tell you something I know to be true. I know it to be true because I did it. Here's the sad part. Many of you won't believe it. The great majority of Steemians won't even see it. Whatever. Here goes.

I haven't left my house in almost ten years to go to a j-o-b.

My living is earned with my brain and my computer. And my fingers, if you want to be technical about it. I've been freelance writing full-time now since 2009 or so. I bit the bullet and decided I was going to make my own way instead of staying in the traditional job ranks. I'm glad I did. The biggest benefit I gained was knowing that all I needed in life to earn a living was a computer and an Internet connection. I could lose everything else, but if I have those two I'll be just fine.

Have I gotten rich? Hardly. But I'm not complaining. I live in a nice but modest three bedroom home. My health is pretty good. I just turned 50 late last year and this September I'm getting married to an amazing girl of 23. The only woman who ever made me want to settle down and build a life. Our car is getting a little old now, but it sure reminds me of when I didn't have a car. These old feet have seen some miles.

So, what is this truth I said I'd tell you. Here it is. Yes, you can earn your living working from home and doing what you love to do. That's the easy part of the truth to swallow. Here comes the part you won't want to believe.

To make it happen you are going to work your ass off. Long days, long nights. You'll eat a lot of macaroni and cheese and Ramen noodles. You'll miss all the new releases at the movie theaters for a few years, and forget about television. You won't be able to afford cable or satellite. Get some rabbit ears, brother, and tune in that local channel that plays reruns of Love Boat and Matlock. Oh yeah, I'm preaching to you now. No one wants to hear this part, but it's part of the truth. Carving out a life as an entrepreneur or a self-employed hack like me demands a lot of sacrifice. It was true for some of the most famous people around. Remember the movie Pirates of Silicon Valley and that scene where Bill Gates has these massive, permanent sweat stains on his shirt? I wouldn't be surprised if that was true. When you're clawing your way up you can't even afford to do laundry like a normal person. You wear a lot of the same clothes two or three times before they see that Arm and Hammer. Okay, I doubt that was true for Gates. He came from a little bit of money. But it was true for me, and probably for you.

The good news is that you can create a good life if you stick it out. I stuck it out for ten years. Don't give up and you'll make it happen...if you put in the hours and pay the price.

I'm all out of magic wands. All I have to give you is the truth.

Sort:  

Hi again! Bummed I missed this before payout! Sometimes my feed gets so full I miss good stuff. Steemit is perfect for you being a full time writer! Congratulations on your new love too... awww 💓

Well, thank you very much :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64