Should I Start Taking the Jenkinrocket Youtube Channel Seriously? Also, Money Is the Most Important Thing.

in #money7 years ago

Man I would love to start my own Youtube channel. I mean yeah, Youtube might well be dead on it's feet (along with, in my opinion, Facebook - no that's not Steemit worship, I've been thinking this for a long time), but I still am quite drawn to the idea of having a channel of my very own (well... I mean I have one, but not really. My computer isn't currently good enough to do live streams and let's plays - also I don't currently have the net in my home so...).

I think I'll be able to maybe move out and possibly even start my own channel somewhere around 50 SBD a post, assuming I ever get there. By that time Youtube might not even be relevant anymore, or there might be many more opportunities that have opened up to me. Or, most frighteningly but also likely of all, I might still be exactly where I'm at now. I sure as hell hope not.

I think I've got the kind of fun personality that could be successful on that platform. And hey, when people weren't laughing with me they could laugh at me almost certainly. I mean, I'd be playing a lot of League of Legends, Overwatch, and scary video games on various platforms so getting my ass kicked would be a pretty regular occurrence.

I like saying absurd shit like 'let us strike boldly into the sky!' and integrating phrases from other languages into my vocabulary. Hell, it could be fun. I've been told many times that I should start my own channel. Now, to be fair, it was all by the same person - my 17-year-old younger brother. But who is better in touch with the Twitter/Instagram generation?

When technology gets there, and I think it will, I think that videos stored and played with blockchain technology will become an inevitability. That would be really interesting. But we still gots a ways, folks.

Oh, something else that's been bothering me a bit, lately:

Money is the most important thing. Sorry, but it's true. If you have a problem with that statement the thing you actually have a problem with isn't me or what I said, but our society. It's not exactly a popular sentiment, but I've started shouting it from the rooftops. I really do look forward to someone not reading the full article and taking it out of context. We'll see.

There are three main areas of life: health, wealth, and love. You need money to experience wealth, obviously. You need a place to live, food to eat, and stuff. These things cost mulah. You also need time to hang out with friends and family, and to go do things with them. Again we come to that sweet, sweet, gold.

What about health? Well, if anything goes wrong with your health you're going to need insurance. Not to mention that to lessen the odds of stuff going wrong you're going to need to live in an environment that is safe and relatively stress-free (compared to similar circumstances only the person doesn't have $$), you're going to need to eat nourishing food and going to need to eat it regularly. Also, most places in the U.S. and Europe require you to have a car or otherwise be able to pay for transportation.

That's right. Without money, you are literally going nowhere.

Until the point you're making about 45k (in U.S. dollars - and that's only for a single person with no children), I am sorry to inform you that your life sucks. That's not to say that it's not worth living. It just means that you face significant hardships. 45k. That's a little over 123 bucks a day on average (173 bucks a day if you, ya know, actually want two days off a week).

Most of us don't make that, and I think it's kind of a problem.

I'm not going to start making the case for a universal basic income, but I will say that if we did have such an income it would need to start around 20k to be actually useful. Still well below the 'you're life is cutting even' line I drew at 45k for those who are just completely terrified that people will lose their incentive to work.

Anyway, maybe I can be the champion of those ideas.... on my Youtube channel. That's what we call full-circle, folks.

Source: 1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44