How I became my own boss.

in #money7 years ago

Just a few months ago I was broke and jobless with no prospects. I spent hours everyday submitting my resume to job boards but having no luck. I felt like fisherman trying to catch a fish on a line with no bait- jobs were everywhere but I couldn't land one.

Then one day out of the blue, I received a text from an old coworker who is now managing her own store and she wanted me to come work for her. The job was not one that I was particularly excited about, in fact, I left the last position because of the anxiety it brought me. But I was desperate, so I took it.

About three weeks in to the job, I was sitting in my car and I remembered something. Last year I heard about this company called Shipt that provides on-demand grocery delivery services. I had signed up with them but never took it any further. I wondered if maybe I should take the leap and give it a chance. So I pulled out my phone, opened the app and checked to see if anyone was looking for a delivery- and there was.

I claimed the order for a Publix less than five minutes away from where I was sitting and drove to the store. Twenty minutes later I was delivering groceries to a single mom who was just getting home from her nursing job with her nine year old son.

Fastforward two weeks and I was picking up a few deliveries here and there on my days off or on days when I didn't have to go to work til the late evening. I was enjoying what I was doing and making more money in one hour than I made working five hours at my regular job- and it was so easy!

Shipt is a fantastic opportunity for people who want to work for themselves either in their spare time or as a full time job. As a shopper, you make a percentage of the order total plus tips. You work as little or as much as you like, you set your own schedule or just pick up orders whenever you're available.

I just wanted to share this with you because I know there are a lot of people out there like me who dread going in to work everyday and would love to be able to work for themselves.

Shipt launched in 2015 and is rapidly expanding. Customers of Shipt love the services we provide and I only see this getting bigger. So if you're looking for something to help you escape the ratrace, maybe you should check them out.

Just a thought.

Sort:  

Nice post, will keep this one in mind!

Definetly. Another perk of the job is that you gain free access to the membership which is usually $99 a year, so you can have your own groceries delivered for free :) They also do milestone achievements rewards for shoppers and send out bonuses for positive reviews from customers!

Congratulations @itsmekristylee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43