Why you don't always need to hit a homerun in investing

in #money7 years ago

Most people get hung up while investing in getting in at the best price and out at the worst price. The truth is you're going to miss out on more profits than you'll make by using this method, especially in the cryptocurrency market! Let's take a look at last week. The price of Ethereum dropped down to nearly $200, and kept hovering around $220. I GUARANTEE that a lot of people were waiting for it to drop back down to $200 or lower to get in. What happened? It soared up to $325 in two days, and those people who bought in at $220 made a major profit, while the rest were left in the dust.

The same thing happens with taking profits. Let's take a trip back to the past and the techboom.


image source - http://www.salon.com/2013/09/27/why_we_hate_the_new_tech_boom/

Tech stocks looked like they simply could not fail and were generating 1,000+% returns in months (sound familiar?). Eventually, this growth is just not sustainable and things crashed, a lot of them by more than 90% of their value. It probably felt great for those people to be riding a $1,000 investment to $100,000 or more, but I bet you it felt a lot worse when that same $100,000 investment went back down to the $1,000 they started at.


image source - http://thenudeinvestor.com/stock-market-crashes-are-we-about-to-experience-one-what-history-can-tell-us/

There are a lot of people who are able to retire from Ethereum's appreciation this year. I was talking to one of my friends not too long ago who has made a ridiculous amount off his Ethereum investment, but he was greedy and refused to take profits. He even acknowledged that he should take profits, but just can't see it coming back down! I'll bet he would be the first to say that losing nearly 50% of his net worth in the span of a week was a very tough pill to swallow.

The moral of the story is this - you don't always need to make the perfect trades to be profitable. If you got into a position at $1 and it went to $1.10, you got out, and then it went up to $1.50, give yourself a pat on the back! You made 10% on a trade! Most people don't make that in a year! If you make 10% on a trade every day for a year starting with $1,000 (compounding) you'll end the year with $1,283,305,580,313,380,000. Always analyze your trades and figure out a price at which you're going to buy, and a price at which you're going to sell. While you may miss out in the short term, in the long term this is much more likely to provide you with positive returns.

**
As always, this post is not investment advice and should not be used in any investment decisions. I am not a licensed adviser, but rather am providing my own views on the above material for discussion purposes. You should never base your investments off someone else, and instead should do your own research.

I hope that you found this post interesting. If you have any questions, please comment below. My goal with this profile is to make frequent posts about finance, cryptocurrencies, investment, and wealth generation. I plan to not only make posts, but also youtube videos, and give away free excel workbooks to assist you in your personal finance goals. If this interests you, please let me know and follow my profile. Additionally, if you would like to reach out and ask any questions/request that I make a post on a topic, please reach out to me at [email protected].
**

Sort:  

Thanks for posting this. I'm interested in trading, but see a lot of people recommend just holding a position instead of trying to play the ups and downs of the market.

I can see the peace of mind that comes with buying something you believe in and holding it for a while, especially if it happens to steadily go up.

However, I see a lot of opportunity to increase the value of holdings by trading. I'll be doing more research on trading.

Right now, I'm just holding what I have in one crypto-currency while I research what four or five others to diversify into.

If you ever have any questions, please feel free to reach out. I actually do all three standard types of trading (day trading, swing trading, and long-term investing). I'll do a post soon distinguishing the three of those and maybe I'll throw in certain things to look for in each if that would interest people.

At the end of the day though all of investing comes down to the basic principle of buying low and selling high.

Thanks, I appreciate your reply. I'll be actively reading your posts. I also just commented on one of your posts from about two weeks ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81