You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Two Ways To Protect Yourself From STEEM Hyperinflation

in #money8 years ago

Upvoted! Good content @izzy. I would change the part where STEEM cannot be converted to SD though. It can be converted using the buy/sell link to the #steemit internal exchange. This exchange is awesome! This is where we buy/sell SD and STEEM.

So, if you need to convert your SD into STEEM:

Go to your steemit wallet
Select the drop down by SD
Select Buy/Sell
When Buy/Sell is successful it will show in your wallet

STEEM to SD is done the same way except the drop down changes to the STEEM dropdown.

Keep on #steemin

Sort:  

The white paper said you can only convert one way. Let me take another read here, but I'm pretty sure I read it right.

You probably meant Steem Power.

Here it is, directly from the white paper:
If people could freely convert in both directions then traders could take advantage of the
blockchains conversion rates by trading large volumes without changing the price. Traders
who see a massive run up in price would convert to SMD at the high price (when it is most
risky) and then convert back after the correction. The Steem protocol protects the
community from this kind of abuse by only allowing people to convert from SMD to STEEM
and not the other way around.
The blockchain decides how and when to create SMD and who should get it. This keeps the
rate of SMD creation stable and removes most avenues of abuse.

yes. I believe the key word in this is convert. You can buy between SD and Steem. We have an internal market to do that.

What is the difference between convert and "buy." Maybe they just evolved the rules since they wrote the paper...

what I can see is that if I want to convert it says something about 7 days. I had to do a sample, because I want to take my SD and buy STEEM. I bought some STEEM, the turned right back around and sold it for SD. I can send the STEEM to my exchange, and vice versa.

So, I really don't know...lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59364.52
ETH 2593.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47