You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the Worst Over For Silver?

in #money7 years ago

I caught the silverbug late in the game. I'm investing as much as I can in silver now, while the prices are so low. If the fix were to end tomorrow, I'd be greatly disappointed because I ran out of time to consolidate my position. To me, the longer the price fix stays in, the more time I have to buy.

Those who are upset about silver price need to ask themselves why the are so. Are they looking to somehow profit off of silver in the short run and believe an unmolested price will help them do that? Are they looking to cash in after years of accumulation, hoping the price will go up so they can take profits? Or are they holding silver for the long run, as insurance against a market crash or worse?

I fall into the latter category, and to me, the longer the price stays here, the better. The only time I want the price to go up is when I'm planning on needing it, when the economy tanks. Basically, Silver is insurance to me, and I want plenty of low cost insurance to protect myself from an eventuality. Profit is not my primary objective with this asset class.

Sort:  

I think the majority of stackers agree with you. I just feel bad for the retirees that are ready to sell, after decades of buying. That, and the fact that low silver and gold prices help enable the current system of Fiat and debt.
Stack on!

True, retirees don't get to see the full benefit. However, retirees do benefit from the anti-inflation properties of their investment, unlike if they had their money in cash, money market, or bonds.

Discussing this inspired me to write an article. You can see it here: https://steemit.com/silver/@infinite-monkey/silver-and-gold-for-insurance-not-profit-use-market-manipulation-to-your-advantage

Already saw it 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64310.07
ETH 3504.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49