Brother, can you make change for a $100 Trillion?

in #money6 years ago

20180123_120417 (1).jpg

This crisp new Zimbabwean one-hundred trillion dollar note is an artifact of the fairly recent and economically devastating hyperinflation that Zimbabwe has gone through in the late 90's until the end of the 00's. According to one study Zimbabwe's peak month of inflation is estimated at 79.6 billion percent in mid-November 2008! It has since moved onto using the US Dollar as the leaders could never stabilized their own currency in order to facilitate meaningful trade and business within their own borders.

It's a great reminder of how much harm a runaway fiat system can do to a country and its people. In the end it wasn't able to purchase more than the equivalent of a few US dollars worth of goods. So now their only value is as collectors items and in a sad bit of irony, their value as such has increase tremendously. I bought it for around $5 US and they are currently selling for on average around $75!

Such is life...

I know the community here is much more interested in cryptos than in fiats, but looking at currencies from around the world can be a really interesting way to learn about the values and history of different countries. So I might go through a few of the others in my small collection to post about and see what things I can find out and share with you.

Close up of Money Collection.JPG

Thanks for reading my post and let me know what you think.

Take care, be aware, and always prepare.
@hypnopreneur

Sort:  

I'm adding my paltry steem to you article. Hopefully you will show up more often in my feed.

It's all good, thanks man! I'll take all the Steemit rewards I can get. :)
Been meaning to post on more regularly, but the habit is slow to take hold...
Definitely have a few I'm working on so keep an eye out for sure.

How's the first few days of #abstractyear treating you so far?

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

I've got a bit of old Zim currency lying around too! They're our neighbours. Hopefully things are going to go better there now that Mad Dog Mugabe is gone.

I started hearing about that a few months ago. Yes indeed let us hope things begin to change for the better!

It’s interesting to note that throughout all history of fiat currency, all examples have led to an eventual valuation of ZERO. Thanks for sharing this reminder!

This is a sad truth, so few people seem to be aware of. I'm glad you get it. Cheers and thanks my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87