You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Where Does The Money Come From?" 💰💰💰 What Non-Crypto People Can Teach Us About 'The Value Of Steem'

in #money7 years ago

I usually answer the question by discussing the barter system first. then I ask them where their currency comes from. After a long pause, I continue.

A long time ago, Charlie Shrem had his "A Geek in Prison" series. One of the items that he talked about which stuck with me was that the prisoners used cans of mackerel as their currency in the prison. Since one person was willing to trade other things for Mackerel, it truly was a currency.

If you Google Charlie Shrem and Mackerel, you will find it... https://steemit.com/story/@charlieshrem/mackerelcoin-and-my-socioeconomic-observations-from-prison-part-1-by-charlie-shrem

At this point, the person I am talking to is usually finding the conversation too much to handle ... so I change the topic. Wait a couple of days ... Then, I get them onto Steemit - using the article above as a starting point.

:-)

Sort:  

Thanks for the adding! I haven't read this one from Charlie yet, so will definitely do it now :-)
Actually EVERYTHING can become a currency, as long as you have two people that agree on its value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47