$200,000 In Student Loan Debt With No Degree And Making Minimum Wage

in #money7 years ago

question-mark-160071_960_720.png

I am a fan of Dave Ramsey, even if I don't agree with every single thing he says.

Still, I think he mostly has simple and solid advice. I like to watch the clip or two he posts on his YouTube Channel every day.

The other day he had this one lady on that absolutely had no clue about money. Appropriately titled $200,000 In Debt Making Minimum Wage.

Here is a short rundown about her life:

  • She went to college (out of state) straight out of high school, for interior design...
  • Changed school (still out of state) and major to film and video production.
  • Never completed the degree, has about a year left.
  • 10 years later she is in $200,000 in debt for student loans, mainly.
  • Earns minimum wage.
  • Puts all her money into an independent film together with her partner.
  • Wow, just wow...

    She really is just about clueless. Dave tried to help her, but I don't think she is going to be able to do it.

    For any of us into personal finance, this clip is just about as cringeworthy as it gets.

    Check it out!

    The decisions that some people make just amaze me sometimes.

    Let me know what you think down below in a comment.


    I also posted this on my new website - www.DoublingDollars.com
    Sort:  

    I would not have believed that if I didn't hear it for myself... Madness!!!

    Thanks for another great post. Hope you are also keeping very well, my brother!!

    Hey bud, she sure dug herself a pit - one that is getting deeper by the day because of the interest.

    You writing your story still? Been looking everyday for the end parts! :D

    it's funny when he starts lashing out at the bad spending habits lol

    I like when he tries to tell her that her independent movie is a complete waste of time without actually saying anything directly bad about it.

    "not responsible for advice not taken" - comes to mind.

    and also "not responsible to seek advice" would fit her college plan too

    amazing that these people appear to not have any common sense. I understand follow your dreams and whatnot, but at some point you will get slapped with reality and thats whats happened here.

    Yeah @lacr24eem, she is completely without 'common' sense. College for interior design or film? C'mon. There is hardly a need to go to a university for things like that. Once they started the big push to get everyone to go to college was the push to get everyone tens and hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt in their early life.

    What's next, degree program to work the register at 7-11?

    200k in debt is pretty LOL im in debt for like 12k i cant imagine being in such massive debt people are insane

    Seriously, my only debt is what's left of my mortgage. I hate paying interest. I couldn't imagine being 200k in the hole.

    i honestly just wouldnt pay it back, would be better off faking your death and living in some 3rd world village as a fisherman

    Lol, yeah. The homeless people in her town are better off!

    I never had a student loan. Is there a period of time when they 'forgive' it now or is it still there until you die?

    I think its almost impossible to have it forgiven these days

    If I had the time, I'd try to synthesize these three items:

    • The adaption of Cloward-Piven Strategy to a middle-class target instead of using the poor to bankrupt the system; this is unlikely intentional, but I bet those on the Left who have seen the results of our "educational" program are enjoying it
    • Tocqueville and other's observations that democracies will vote themselves poor
    • Growth complex in both academia and the school loan industry

    These loans will be "written off" if the student never gets a job, and there is a payment adjustment based on income, so some debtors will never pay back the full amount anyway.

    The schools and the banks get their money, and the taxpayer gets stuck holding the bag.

    What makes it worse is the amount of these degrees that are functionally useless...

    Yea, the college conspiracy is in full force.

    Luckily some people are becoming aware of it. I love when Mike Rowe tells it like it is. They aren't going to outsource your electrician or plumber job to China.

    This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

    See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

    If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.19
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.029
    BTC 58728.31
    ETH 3185.59
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.43