US Restaraunt Industry is biggest collapse since 2009 --- I wonder why?

in #money7 years ago

Spur economic:http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2017-07-15/us-restaurant-industry-stuck-worst-collapse-2009

image

image

We can look at all the charts and data...

We can takeaway the Harvard Economic Scholars on Wall Street...and ask the common man on the street.

What would the common man tell corporate American restaraunts?

  • Hey man....I don't have the money to go out to eat as much as I did?

Of course the Wall Street dude would say why not?

  • Hey dude, I can't afford all these increases. I have rent going up. My healthcare is going up. I am paying minimums on my credit cards and they are maxed now.

Wall Street man shakes his head....goes back to HQ and tells his people. "Better come out with that great article on how McDonalds is kicking ass with their robot plans"...."things are not going to get better for awhile"!

And don't show the charts of things slowing down...we have to keep these stocks up!!!
image

Sort:  

Well, we like Cracker Barrel. Good prices. But man, I do NOT want my family eating GMO trash. As the eldest went racing for donuts yesterday I told her no. She pouted but ya know, I am certain this made the other two moms there dishing em out to their kids upset. I said, "Sweetie, because I love you, I can not let you put that in your body - you have a special purpose for your life and if you trash your body you will not be able to do the very important things you are supposed to do. I love you. Can you help me get the things on our list so we can make something tasty to share with the family that wants to come share their day with us?". Not even kidding, she said, "wilco". She's four. Kids will rise to the expectations, but I am so tired of the food assault on us and it has nothing to do with money.

But yes, inflation is real. And eating out is such a scam. It's nice when it needs to be. Sorry. Off the soap box.

We all appreciate what you are saying. You feel like nobody wants to protect the consumer at times. Bad foods have been left on the market for years. We can see what is happening to peoples health. And who knows what they are spraying on us with chemtrails.....rant off :-)

Wall Street and Main Street, may as well be on a different planet.

It's all about fooling the consumer. Can people see why people are having less children today? Can they not put 2 and 2 together --- costs are way to much. It makes people stop and think. And then we get the demographic talk. Why not the it costs too much to live vs our wages talk?

The good paying jobs are not coming back, they are long gone.

I look at things and try to keep an open mind becuase of my belief in the people....but it sure seems to be getting harder and harder for many.

I work in fine dining and we recently had a store meeting where my boss had mentioned that middle tier restaurants such as Chili's, AppleBees, etc are really suffering. Luckily we haven't seen that same decline in sales but we have definitely seen the increase in turnover. We lost 4 managers and probably a dozen servers over the past year, not to mention the ten plus dish washers and a few back of house guys. In the past year about 40% of our staff has changed I would say.

Everyone is in survival mode. I feel like the next shoe is about to drop with the market....I can only speculate what happens to business then?

Seems conservatism is reaching the shores of the US as the credit squeeze continues globally and taxes keep rising to cover gov spending. Viscous cycle

We don't talk about this stuff in the media....it's hidden. Economic problems , such as then pensions or rising costs are not brought up to politicians by the media. I think they have no clue of what to do...and worse yet I think most in driven by people they answer to.

True. The folks that we would be angry at (forest for the trees here) are not the right people to take it out on. Everything is manipulated, all you need is to follow the 💰!

We will never hear any of this from MsM til it is already as Clif High says "extinction level". We discuss this often when the kids go to bed. I ignore media while home with them all day, but there is a daily reality check after devotions morning and night. I don't fear this, we would love to see the hammer drop a decade ago (ha) and reset, have massive debt forgiveness, help people learn to live outside he system, be debt free, take care of their health, be more agrarian, help folks understand responsibility and personal accountability. The things we will be left with in the wreckage are ideas, philosophies and social mores that do not belong to ANY corporation. I just pray there are enough folks left on earth with their feet still tied two the ground and two brain cells to run together (thanks @marketreport) to get us all back to solid ground. God knows. Ultimately, He is sovereign and we have been graced with Free Will.

I could not have said it better...I really would like to see a vision for coming thru this stronger over time. I am not as young as I use to be you know ... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65