You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does money make us happy?

in #money7 years ago

Awesome post! What is the chance, the picture you used with the person stretching their hands out with the coin it is a two Rand coin, the South African currency! My own country. I think you said valuable things! But I think also that it is a bit more complex in a way? I think money can buy you opportunities to be happy. For example if you think buying a Ferrari will bring you happiness, then maybe it won't because it is a possession that can bring stress etc. But if you know what you want to do in life, if you have a passion, then money, in my opinion, can buy you happiness.

For example, I really want to open a bakery and coffee shop with a philosophical practice. If I had the money I would open it today. It is not that the bakery and the possessions will bring me happiness, but the smile I want to see on the face of the person who buys my bread. I think money can buy happiness, it should just be buying the right stuff and not superficial things. Does this make sense? Or am I going in the wrong directions haha :P

Sort:  

You say it my friend “the smile I want to see on the face of the person who buys my bread”, that is what would make you happy. In order to do that you need money, so it’s just a tool for us to achieve our goals and feel happy about it. Money + work can certainly “buy” happiness in my opinion.

The sad thing is that so many people buy useless things (from my perspective) to try and get happiness that will never get them happiness. It is sad (for me) to see people who have a passion in life, lose it because they do not have enough money. Sometimes I wish the world was different! But alas, we have to use what we have to survive.

Poverty is indeed a very serious problem we have always had. But I believe this problem is being resolved right now.

Poverty rates are globally on a decreasing trend, more and more poor countries are starting to have a growing middle class. And this is good.

Hopefully by next century we will have poverty at 0% globally.

It can be done.

That is so nice to hear! I am from South Africa where there is so much poverty. When you try to help, sometimes the people see it as negative. So you start to get the feeling of not wanting to help. I really hope there is change on the horizon.

I am from Venezuela mate! And here we have a lot of poverty right now thanks to the worst economic crisis of Venezuela’s history. It’s very ugly right now and people are suffering a lot.

I hope I can do well here on steemit and provide some help for my people.

And yes, I think long term poverty will be eliminated one way or another. I think this is a good subject for another post :D

Yes it is! I got a lot of good info from other people in the comments as well. It is so nice to have a decent conversation with other people.

Yes I heard on the news about the crisis there, people fighting for food etc. (and the high prices for daily food). In South Africa it is not like that, more like systematic poverty. Which is bad because if you are stuck in that circle you will likely not get out. I want to bring steemit to people in the poor areas so they can document their lives and share it on steemit and maybe make a buck or two! Slowly we can fight against the corrupt world.

It would be great if you managed to get some people from your countries to document their lives! That would be interesting!

And yes! Steemit can be super helpful for people having financial issues but willing to share time here.

This is why I believe steemit will be very popular in Venezuela next year. It’s a very good opportunity.

I really hope you succeed with it as well! May all that is good happen to you and your family. :) Stay safe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.98
ETH 2460.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62