A man in debt is so far a slave.

in #money8 years ago (edited)

How much debt do you owe ? Does is keep you awake at night, like a splinter in your mind ? does it wake you up at night just to find yourself rehearsing what excuse you are going to come up with this time to buy yourself some more time ? Then welcome friend, welcome to the club of a the DEBT SLAVES.

I am a long time member of that club, they might even build a statue to my honor. And yet, I am an honest guy, maybe a little too honest. A debt to me is sacred and must be re-payed, but the circumstances don't really gives a shit, they just keep winning one hand after another, I double, I loose, time after time.

I think I can't find any excuses anymore, most of them are lies anyway, but I know and the person I owe money to knows too that they are lies, we both like it this way, for if I boldly state it like this: Man, I am broke, you have to wait till I don't when, then disappointment settles, for people love lies, knowing that they are lies, rather they prefer something that goes like this: I am expecting some money to come in next week and surely you will be the first to be paid back.
Next week comes, with it the phone call that you don't answer, rather you send a text message saying that you are out of town, and that there was a delay, the cash is coming don't worry, talk to you when I am back, to reality.

Dude, this is the story of so many of us, the Debt Slaves, that for god knows why, we just can't get our freedom back.
Let alone the debt we owe to people who were good to us, our parents, siblings, friends, we always feel that we must pay them back, that someday, somehow, we will make it up, and that we will not forget their kindness.... Bullshit, it's been so many year you have been repeating this to yourself, that you ended up believing it.

I just felt like pouring my current state of mind, welcome to my reality, and if you are not a debt slave, please move on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61