Retirement Planning: Eliminate/Reduce Telephone Bill to Save MoneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #money7 years ago

As I plan for retirement later this year, I have been reviewing what I am spending money on and how I can reduce spending, every little bit adds up.


Image Source

Telephone Bill

For most of my life I did not have a cell phone. I always relied on a land-line phone. But now I have a smart phone that has far more capability than any land-line phone. I had always justified my land-line by saying that so much is associated with it, in terms of accounts and so forth.

Dropping the Land-line

I have my land-line phone service through a cable company. When I first called them to drop my land-line phone the cable company gave me a $20 credit per month to keep my land-line phone with them for one year. After the one year discount ended I was determined to drop the land-line phone for good.

A friend told me about a "Basic Phone Service" option where you get out-going emergency calls and unlimited in-coming calls for a low price.

When I called the cable company, of course the representative tried to talk me out of it, but I down-graded my service to "Basic Phone Service".

The $avings

I just got my first bill under the new "Basic Phone Service" contract. Compared to my old bill the savings will add up.

$ USDMonthlyYearly
Savings$34.09$409.08

Saving $409.08 per year is a nice sum. And I can always drop the land-line phone altogether for even greater savings.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

Going to this, after reading this Post! I can save my Bills by Half. I really don't need that much data, but I can save money by setting aside more Savings. With Economic Uncertainty, this one of the best way to save money. Cutting down unnecessary expenses

I am not planning on retiring soon, but I think its a good idea for everyone to look at ways to cut monthly recurring costs. I do not use the phone much so I went with a cell phone with a pay only for what you use monthly fee. It ends up being around $12-$20 a month after taxes, etc

That is great!

When I started working cell phones were extremely rare. When I bought a house, I still didn't have a cell phone. That is why I got the land-line and just hung onto it.
When I finally got around to having a cell phone, most of the young people were foregoing land-lines and just using their cell phone.
I am weening myself off the land-line, I may very well drop the land-line entirely one day.
Right now my cell phone is on the grand-fathered unlimited data plan from Verizon. I definitely want to hold on to that data plan for as long as I can. That is the reason I do not switch to a cheaper plan for my cell phone.

Thanks again for your great comment. You definitely found a way to save even more money. And I agree, everyone should be looking for ways to save money.

Have a great day!
Steem on,
Mike

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.56 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Interesting. I believe I have to search this end too with you your way of thinking.

Thank you.

Thank you! I plan to share some of the tips I find for saving money as I continue to prepare for retirement.
Have a great weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

If you use unlimited call and internet, you have no spending problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65