Thrift Store Haul for Online Resale by Full-Time Reseller on eBay, Amazon, Listia

in #money7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6855.JPG

Here is my latest haul that I found in a couple hours at Goodwill. I'm always looking for things that I can resell online and there is no better place than a thrift shop. I always find enough to have an overflowing cart (sometimes two). I've been selling online since the late 1990's (before eBay even let us use photos). Today I started where I always seem to start - the DVD section. I guess it's the category that I know best since the glory days of VHS. I shopped many video rental stores back in the day, buying their unwanted titles and sometimes paying $8.00 or more each back then. I love the treasure hunt of scanning books and other media to sell on Amazon FBA.

IMG_6864.JPG

Video games are also a great section for scanning but I didn't scan these Sims games because I know they usually do well. If they are not worth much individually, I'll put them in a lot for eBay. This mermaid is an interesting piece because it is made entirely out of beads. I'm sure there is a collector or decorator who will want it.

IMG_6859.JPG

Board games are also easy to scan to see their worth on Amazon and are usually pretty affordable too. I don't bother to check for completeness when they are less than $3 because if they are incomplete I add the pieces to a bucket and when I have enough I sell them as a lot to crafters (same thing with game boards).

IMG_6860.JPG

Some of the other notable items include a cordless phone from the 1990's and a bed sheet from the 1980's (vintage always sells). The cost of clothes and shoes at this Goodwill has gone up in price lately so I didn't spend too much time looking at them today but I did find some ski boots, Toy Story Vans, and a Camel Hair sports coat. Even though Records is one of my least successful categories (gives me the most duds), I keep buying a few every time out to keep learning. I didn't look up the Raggedy Ann doll but it was only $3.99 and is a Limited Edition so I should be able to find a home for her. The best find of the day is the HUGE plush tiger for only $5.99 - I've sold these for $100+

My filtration system goes like this: My first choice to sell on is Amazon FBA, then my eBay store. If those are too watered down with a particular item I'll sell on Mercari (if over 1 pound of weight) and Listia (if under 1 pound). I might be listing more on Listia now that they are introducing a cryptocurrency that should be able to be converted to fiat cash, BitCoin, etc. Anything that doesn't make the cut to those sites will then go to various consignment stores or be redonated.

Sort:  

Interesting about Listia. Unfortunately, I don't think we have that here in the UK.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65472.04
ETH 3323.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63