You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The War on Cash Rages On in India and Venezuela

in #money8 years ago

I was on holiday in India during the demonetization announcement. I think you are espousing the typical middle class Indian's thoughts on this. Frankly, they're the most insular, unsympathetic people I have ever met(many of which are my family members). If as you say, there isn't much of a problem why are there still queues at the banks? Why have people changed their spending habits? And have you actually tried spending a 2000rs note? According to people I know there and from what I saw when I was there, many vendors still won't accept it! Outside malls and hotels, it is almost impossible to spend on card - that will obviously change but in the short term the problems with a cashless society arise.

As for corruption and crime, they have gone up since the announcement! To get large amounts of money deposited into banks, backhanders have been placed. In short, I think this move will turn out to be a disaster and you've got your head in the sand, think of the average man in this scenario.

I wrote about my experiences and the potential problems here:

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@drkarl/in-the-midst-of-indian-demonetization

A resteem of the article would be nice @dollarvigilante :)

Sort:  
Loading...

That sounds overly harsh on you personally @firepower. It was never intended to be that way, accept my apologies.

Please accept mine too! Cheers!

That sounds overly harsh on you personally @firepower. It was never intended to be that way, accept my apologies.

Gentlemen, I've just had the pleasure of enjoying a fair and rational discussion (thanks to both of you) regarding a situation which I have followed for the last month and a half. A situation from which I am far displaced and wholly reliant on anecdotal reports and sensationalized click bait targeted at financial geeks like myself.
Polite, erudite, and revealing, I feel privileged to be a witness to your exchange.
My sincere thanks going out to each of you.
Respect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42