You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tax in the Crypto World

in #money7 years ago

Suppose a farmer plants some corn. It grows and is eventually harvested and stored in a big barrel. He does not pay tax on it until he sells it for dollars. I would argue the same is true for STEEM.
Until time provides us with a court case or an established law, I do not either fret or speculate. My cost value in STEEM is zero. My potential gains are like the stored corn. They are yet unknown.

Sort:  

This is a good point, until it turns into fiat, it shouldn't matter. But even then, should it...? A farmer would pay taxes upon selling his corn, but if I grew corn in my backyard, too much for me to consume, and gave some to a friend, in exchange for a bit of money to cover for water and whatnot, should I pay taxes on that? This is a real question, I am obviously no expert. I feel like I wouldn't have to. Similarly, I would imagine that the little money I could make here shouldn't be declared. As long as I am not making any relevant profits, that is.
I actually don't know the taxation on capital gains here, but I am not sure cryptos would fall under that category. Buying a few bitcoins and then selling them back for a profit seems much closer to buying collectible cards are something along this line and selling them a few years later. Or is that supposed to be declared as well...?
Wow, I realize I don't know much at all when it comes to taxes... (I actually went to the tax office today, should have asked!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82