My brother's Hong Kong coins collection, from 70s to now. common to rare.

in #money7 years ago

My brother used to work in a convenience store and he like exchanging coins that he found rare or interesting with his own. Unlike the coins that I found in US, the pattern for each of the coin here is pretty consistent. we have 10 cent, 20 cent , 50 cent , 1 dollar , 2 dollars , 5 dollars and 10 dollars

From 70s to 80s

Notice that the back was Queen Elizabeth, 20 cent and 50 cent were written in Chinese character. 1 dollar and 2 dollars have a lion rather than alphabet 1 and 2.

From 80s to 90s

Sorry I don't have the 20 cents and 5 dollars from this era. The crown of the queen is definitely bigger. I don't know why, please explain to me if you know the answer.

From 90s - now

Here are the common ones that we see the most: We have change one side to alphbet only and the City flower Hong Kong Orchid Tree on the back.

Two rare coin that he found:
Out of many coins, I found two really special one:


I didn't know they existed before my brother showed it to me. looking at the date, it was the year HK return to China. I guess it was related.

It took me a lot of time and effort to take picture on both side of the coins and edit it. If you like my work, please upvote, Thanks!! I think people who are interested can do what I do, show us what the currency of your region was like and let me know, I will come and upvote.

Sort:  

Unfortunately you do not have the first version of 5-dollar coin. It was a 10-sided coin, quite a special one.

I didn't know they existed, thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42