So what does a bitcoin look like? You’re not going to believe the right answer…

in #money7 years ago

download.png

I’m sure I’m not the only one to hear this question lately and if I were more compassionate (I’m working on that) I would take a step back and remember the times I asked a dumb question…but I have to admit that I don’t always take the high road – sadly, I have laughed more than once at this question. However in recent months I have come to realize that this question, as off the mark as it is, deserves a serious answer.

Many years ago I showed up late to a Red Sox game at Fenway Park and seat number 13 this night was situated down the first base line and between a crusty old New Englander to my left and seven or eight empty seats to my right. But I paid for seat 13 so I took it.

“Well you had to work at that” the old guy said as I sat in my seat. “What’s that I said” truly not understanding what he meant. “Well you got almost 10 seats to choose from, and you take the only one that can affect someone else” he said with a witty smile. I was pretty sure he was kidding but to protect myself I looked behind me to see if I could claim that I didn’t want to block someone’s view but unfortunately nobody was behind me. At a loss for words, I mumbled an apology and tried to think of how I might get past this.

“You like the Sox?” he asked before I had gathered my thought. “Sure, who doesn’t?” I said thinking a good conversation was about to start but before this thought completed a loop around my brain this old guy gave me another witty smile and rattled off what seemed like a dozen obvious Red Sox haters: “The Yankees, Yankee fans, George Steinbrenner, the green monster…” It was only the third inning and this was going to be the long night.

So back and forth we went, inning after inning, the old man asking questions I couldn’t readily answer and making statements that made me feel uncomfortable and even a bit unwelcomed, but I kept my butt firmly planted in seat 13, determined to win this otherwise total strangers respect.

Sadly, with two outs in the top of the 9th, and the Red Sox holding a commanding lead, it looked as though I would leave this game feeling like a dunce. Then, as if the script for the night had be written in Hollywood, a right handed batter came around late on his swing and sent a foul ball right at us. The old man leaned to his left as if to shield himself from this incoming foul ball and I moved myself in front of him to further shield him for what looked like what might be a direct hit. But then at the last second the ball curved to the right toward my seat and simultaneously seemed to be running out of speed so that I easily put my right hand out and caught the ball to cheers from everybody in the section!!!

Before I knew what happened the old man sprung up in his seat smiled at me and put his hand out to shake my hand repeating his first words to me “Well, you had to work at that” but this time he added a few words: “congratulations, you earned it.”

Yes I did!! I stayed in seat 13 and lost the battle of wits with this old guy but through time and chance won his respect. I had to work at it but it was worth it.

So what does a Bitcoin look like? No witty answer here – a bitcoin looks like work, hard work and if you want to earn a nice profit… well, you have to work at that!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86