People and Their Strange Dualities Handling Money!

in #money7 years ago

The more I think about it, the more I come to the conclusion that most people are highly inconsistent in their approaches to money.

Money? We can't actually TALK about that... can we?

MountShasta
Mount Shasta, California

Of course-- like a lot of people-- I was taught from a young age that money is one of those topics "we don't talk about." That approach actually bugs me a little because it seems to me that so many of people's money woes stem directly from the fact that they never talk about money. And when they do? It's usually just to complain about not being able to afford the electric bill.

This morning I was looking at posts in a spirituality and "consciousness" forum where a number of people were being very high and mighty about how they "didn't care about money.

It seems to be one of the peculiarities of that particular area (or "life philosophy," if you will) that "you can't be truly and deeply spiritual unless you turn your back on all things material." I don't personally happen to agree with that... but that particular discussion is for another post, on another day.

Clover
Lucky 4-leaf clover

So Do you Care... or NOT?

And yet, these well meaning "evolved" people who claim they "don't care" about money sure seem to want to spend money on a vast array of grandiose projects in a manner that suggests they DO care about it. And in another twist of duality... when it comes to putting in the effort to actually make the money for aforesaid projects, then they suddenly "don't care," once again. Phrases like "Oh, I shouldn't have to worry about such trivialities" abound. 

Money Management... and Non-Money Management

Some folks seem to be superb at "managing NO money," meaning that they can get amazing things done and survive skillfully with next to nothing. But if you hand them a sudden and unexpected $1000... so they are suddenly actually "managing MONEY..." it's all gone, by tomorrow... and they are right back to managing an empty pocket.

Cairn
It's all about finding balance!

Then there's the whole issue of "saving." I know lots of people who keep talking about how they "need to save," for the future or for some project, investment or even for retirement. That's certainly a noble enough cause, make no mistake. But if they suddenly come into an unexpected $5,000, they'll have it spent on a trip to Bora Bora twenty minutes later and then end up all surprised and butt-hurt that there's still nothing in their savings account.

If I don't LOOK at the Problem, it's not There...

And then there are the people who simply avoid "looking directly" at their financial situation... essentially denying reality. Here I'm thinking of a friend who who is pretty much broke, but still lives a lifestyle that put her on a collision course with destitution. So she acts (aka "spends") like she still had "the good times" of some years ago... even though she has little to actually fund her spending habits. Her reasoning pretty much amounts to "but I can't let people SEE that I am not doing well!

Be that as it may, I fear she's going to end up with a "hard landing" very soon.

Look What I Got With this $100!

Gazebo
The gazebo at Chetzemoka Park

Last but not least, there are the ones I call "fantasy money managers" who evidently are just bad at math. 

They know they have a $1000.00 bonus coming in, and they have an idea that they are going to buy a new couch (for $800) when that bonus arrives. Fine... that's decent planning. But then they decide they are going to get their car fixed (for $700) because "they are getting a $1000 bonus." At a different time, I'll hear them say they are going to "use their $1000 bonus" to go visit family. 

By the time the money actually arrives, they've spent almost $1000 THREE DIFFERENT TIMES... and seem to lack any understanding of why they are actually worse off than before the bonus arrived.

I watch (many) people's finances be all over the place around me, and I feel a lot of gratitude to my parents for having taught me the "value" of money, and that choices-- including our financial ones-- have consequences. I may not be a wealthy person (I'm definitely NOT!) but I do understand the basic concept that a dollar spent today isn't going to be available to you to spend again tomorrow.

How about YOU? Do you consider yourself a good money manager? Are you usually a "spender" or a "saver?" If someone handed you and unexpected $1000 tomorrow... would you still have it in savings three months from now? Or would it already be spent, by next week? If you are married/in a relationship, do you and your partner treat money in the same way? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- start the conversation!

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

I think it depends on the personality of each one and the values that instill in us. In my case I am not to worry about the money. I save what I can but when I have to enjoy it, I spend it. I do not think much about it. I try to stay positive, knowing that more will be generated.

Ah yes, that's important, too. I have often felt held back by my own doubts of being able to get more, once what is in front of me has been used.

Money is indeed a very important medium in our daily lives but as people desire too much of it, they didn't realize that it started controlling them until they started to forget other important aspects of life. Money is something but definitely not everything.

Agreed... definitely not "everything." It seems that when people start engaging in illicit behavior, it's often because they have become too addicted to money.

Exactly. If a person becomes addicted to money, a lot of things changes within theirselves. Most of the time they became boastful and act like their something big and influencial.

I've been a spender dang near my whole life, but at some point the idea clicked in that saving and investing made more sense. Seems simple and it is. As we move through life we just come to new understandings AND have the willpower or motivation to see those through. Thanks for laying this all out, I had to laugh about spending money I hadn't made yet a few different times before I got it. Totally me, and more than once. Feels like sometimes you have to make all those bad decisions in order to understand the power of a good ones. Dig it.

There has definitely been a "learning curve" for me, as well. Although I was raised to be more of a "saver" I learned a lot from two longer relationships with almost compulsive spenders. These days, I am learning more the value of actual investing, vs. simply "saving."

Excellent distinction! Saving never seemed to make sense to me, but investing holds enough appeal that I've been able to stick with it and actually enjoy it. There's a lot to be said for building systems that create passive income.

Great question. I can be both.

Yes, and it can depend on the given situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48