GETTING SCAMMED IN THE CRYPTO WORLD

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-02-03 at 8.26.37 PM.png

Getting scammed in crypto world isn't only about fake pump-dump ICO trades, exchanges going offline or participating in various Ponzi's.

As a crypto enthusiast with 7 years spent in mining, trading, advocating through local and global btc foundations, and hodling in general, I somehow always find interest in discussing and consulting about crypto world. I was fooled twice very hard for my passion.

Let me tell you my story.

Besides doing crypto, I'm also a full stack web developer for the last 15 years. Now, being a full stack developer and with an experience in the crypto world, I started being wanted good on the job market.

My first bad gig happened back in 2016 when I was contacted for my expertise by a company that wanted to create an alt coin, a wallet, a and a web service for exchange. I got an offer that I could not refuse, it sounded amazing, to work in the crypto field on a large project and with almost doubled salary than I had before. Of course, I stepped in, quit my previous job in a startup that dealt with tele-medicine online app. That company ran bankrupt by loosing a lead web developer because I quit there.

My new job was very interesting during first month, we were building website and preparing code using Bitshares Graphene's system for forking a new alt. When second month started I was a bit impatient about getting the correct variables from investors about main parameters needed to finish the new coin, like, coin limit, rate and dynamic of inflation etc.

They were silent for couple of weeks and then they just told me, hey, we don't need you anymore, we're not going to develop blockchain we will just use SQL db for creation of new coin

What they did is basically created a OneCoin scam clone. A MLM ponzi. I will not name them since they are not worthy.

My second bad gig just finished yesterday. I was contacted by a a local large mining farm that wanted me to create a clone of Genesis Mining online service. First we went to China two months ago, to meet the suppliers of GPU mining parts and ASIC manufacturers. The equipment worth around $2 mil was bought and installed. Then we created proxy service for changing miner's preferred pool, and then the last thing I developed was a web portal with profile pages where users could track their hashrate and revenue rewards. The salary went in advance since I didn't had a contract defined and on 1.2.2018 I didn't got salary as promised for February although all those things were developed. I just went full rage since they didn't responded about my salary, and deleted everything from their servers since I was the sys-admin there as well. They were just tricking me in building all those online systems with no plan in paying me further.

If you're passionate about crypto, please open four eyes and watch out everywhere. A lot of money is now envolved and there are mean people looking into taking advantage from skilled people.

Sort:  

yeah, spread the word... not just particular coins or 'products' are scams or half-scams, one needs to be careful around this kinda stories as well

Thanks bruh raising awareness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54