3 Interesting facts about Forbes list of billionaires

in #money7 years ago

Hey Steemians,

Its been five days since my last post, a bit of a cool down after my blazing start hehe but I am here again and on this post I am going to be looking at some interesting facts about the Forbes list of all billionaires in the world.

According to Forbes there are currently 2043 billionaires in the world.

1st Fact. Average age of current billionaires is 64.

Woooh! I had to take a chill pill when I saw this one, if you are young like me, you probably still got some time to go hehe. Shout out to the 68 people who are under 40 and made it to the list lead by Mark Zuckeberg of facebook, take a bow boss!

2ndFact. Asia has the highest number of Billionaires

This might not come as a surprise to some, but seeing how the United States of America is a world super power, I kind of expected the continent(North America) they belong to lead in this category.I would probably compare this data set to the data set of billionaires 20 years ago so maybe I could prove a significant shift. USA has the highest number of billionaires(565) though,so shout out to them.

PS:Data might be a bit skewed because of my limited knowledge of continents.
For example I put all billionaires in turkey under the european continent, some people might think otherwise but I am a big soccer fan and teams from turkey play in UEFA competitions hehe.

3rd Fact : There are 133 countries in the world without a single billionaire.

According to the US department of states website, there are 204 countries in the world but then there are only 71 countries represented on the Forbes list . Oh this is kind of sad yeah? Every country deserves a billionaire right ? Wrong! Uniform development is probably more important. As I do not want to clog my post with the full list of countries not on the forbes list, I am just going to mention 10 countries not represented on the forbes list . Will start from Africa as I am from Nigeria and just realized some neighboring countries are not on the list (I am not trying to start a war hehe instead I would be rooting for them).

Ghana
Kenya
Armenia(Think Kardashians)
Iran(Oops they got oil )
North Korea
Serbia
Slovenia (FLOTUS)
Zimbabwe(You have to be a billionaire to live here but not a USD billionaire hehe)
Uruguay
Bahrain

This post is just for laughs while stating some facts,please don't get offended. Love everyone.

Thanks for reading my post.Let me know your view on this post in the comments, I read and appreciate every comment.Each post I make takes considerable time and effort,please support me by upvoting and resteeming if you enjoyed it.Keep an eye on my blog for my next post. You can also follow me @datageek

Sort:  

interesting stats, thanks for sharing

Glad you found it interesting. Thanks for stopping by

What if each billionaire would share one million to the rest of the population in their country, the billionaire wouldn't even notice a million gone from their bank account but the rest of the population could probably eat steak for dinner for a year.

True but to be fair some billionaires on that list have massive charitable projects. Guess in the end we all have to chip in any way we can whether we become billionaires or not, just put a smile on a needy persons face

True, well you feel ten times better if you're helping others, at least I do.

Africa has to do better, great post.

Here's a plan:

  1. Become a billionaire;
  2. Move to a country that doesn't have any billionaires;
  3. I dunno; I'm still working on point #1. ;)

Lol Good luck with that

At an average of 1 cent each, I'll only need 100 billion upvotes to get there. I'll be the McDonalds of upvotes. "Billions Upvoted." LOL

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by datageek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

In 10 years the list will be full of crypto billionaires just like its heavily features people who made their cash in the dotcom boom currently.

Yeah we would see how that goes. I guess I need to learn how to invest properly in crypto so that lambo does not evade me

I would love to see that! Like @jeffberwick often has said, it's impossible for us to be sure which cryptos will be ultimately huge/successful (we can't even be certain about..bitcoin - gasp!), but one thing for sure is that cryptos as a concept are here to stay!

Great post. It's all about statistics and how to read them. We are so focused on headlines and so on.
Keep posting @datageek :)

I don't intend to stop. In steemit I have found my home and a way to achieve my dreams. Thanks for your comment .

You got my vote and a resteem :)

Thank you so much

Great post! First, I expected a list of the youngest billionaires, but your post turned out to be really interesting! Thank you for sharing this information with us & it's very surprising to me that there are that many countries without a billionaire.. but who knows, we might be able to change that :) Good luck to every young person on Steemit, who has a long time to get to the age of the billionaires and with some luck even be one :)

I was going to say the same @datageek - I didn't expect such unique insights...like that there are 133 countries without a billionaire. Stats like this just go to show how lopsided the world's wealth is (and I know there are plenty of other stats on that topic!)

Just curious, where did you get the idea for this post? As a newbie myself, I am always looking for good advice and the opportunity to learn from Steemians with great content like yourself ;)

PS - Now followed

Thanks @jobsande. You are right there are always numerous angles to look at for each set of data, no single person can get all the angles because we are humans and we think differently. As to how I choose my post , I just keep an open mind and often write it down when I think of something interesting then I go looking for data to support my reasoning. Sometimes it's the other way, I could come across a data set and I just start playing with it hoping to discover something interesting.

Ah interesting, ok that makes sense. I've often heard some of the most famous writers, inventors, comedians...pretty much anyone in a "creative" line of work will keep a pad of paper and pen with them at all times in case an idea strikes. Sounds like you work the same way ;)

Yes I tried to focus on interesting information I thought most people didn't realise. Yes we are going to need a lot of good luck coupled with hard work to get on that list before 64 :)

Nice post!

Strange to realize that there's currently no Ghanaian Billionaire.........wait a sec, in the world?

That's discomforting!

Hehe, not sure how it can be discomforting. As I hinted in the post,it is probably better that a country boasts of uniform developments instead of the number of billionaires they have. Ghana for example is doing really well in some areas compared to Nigeria.

Yea, quite true though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45